Why I think I'm switching back to Media Center | Page 9

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Talk' started by dmeglio, September 9, 2007.

  1. mzemina
    • Premium Supporter

    mzemina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Project Manager
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    "...shutdown, restart and exit buttons..."



    Is there any need for these buttons if not using a mouse?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    @mzemina,
    I use these buttons quite often with my MCE Remote. I can navigate to them from the main menu by using the left and right cursor keys.

    @Spragleknas,
    I tried this out on SVN 16156 (see atttached), but The Green Button (TGB) on my remote still switches between Home and BasicHome. Could this have something to do with the fact that I am using "MCE Replacement Tray" (so that I can also start MP with TGB, if it isn't already running)?
     
  4. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    this should be talked about in a different thread.

    please stay on-topic :)
    :D
     
  5. AddeBC

    AddeBC Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Im going the otehr way. MythTV. At least you get answers in there forums. Here i still have three unanswered topics...
     
  6. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    sorry to hear, but it is simply impossible for us to answer every single thread started in the forums.
    if you got no reply, then mostlikley noone from the community had a clue either.

    :)
     
  7. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I have several unanswered topics, too. It is in fact very frustrating. But I don't blame the people who are active in these forums because they give clues when they have any AND when they FIND your topic at all.

    a) This is the problem here, there are new users everyday asking questions which have been asked 20 times before.

    b) There also are many users who have several posts and still are not looking for an answer by searching just by just posting without considering.

    c) Another problem is that due to a lack of searching and a lack of skill many users ask simply needless questions which could be avoided if they just would rtfm :)eek:). Every 5th "problem" is codec related, every 10th user is not able to handle the installation of MediaPortal and happily posts this instead of just reading the wiki.

    They generate a lot of unnecessary spam which expands the forum beyond a chance for the few supporters to handle the really important topics. This is a problem which continues to grow exponentially...


    -level20peon
     
  8. AddeBC

    AddeBC Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I left a question in the support forum.

    And i KNOW its a very simple question... How to use a Switch bigger than 4 ports... i have a 8 port switch.

    ANyway too be a bit constructive in this thread i can say, i didnt find the setup too complicated it took me an hour too get media portal working with everything i need including MDAPI plugins.

    So i have no problem there, but i think the community (not the admins) should get their act together and start helping more... Of all opensource projects ive been using this is the one with least help.
     
  9. level20peon
    • Premium Supporter

    level20peon MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aachen
    Ratings:
    +100 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    This is a common problem of such projects. Veni, vidi, vici... users come, have a problem, get it solved and vanish... for as long as they don't have problems, they are happy, don't bother about the rest, period.

    I am watching the Forum RSS feed when I have time but as far as I can tell there are not all new topics listed, I don't know why. I haven't seen yours, too. To be honest, I don't search the forum for new or unanswered topics besides having a look at the RSS feed. This is more than challenging already.


    -level20peon
     
  10. gxtracker
    • Premium Supporter

    gxtracker Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 25, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    In MP's current state, absolutely. My HTPC is a dedicated device, but sometimes I like to restart the box to refresh it (there still is a windows OS running on it remember...) and I like to hibernate it when not in use to conserve electricity.

    you mean this question? https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/showthread.php?t=29497

    I have no idea what you're asking and the thread has had 40 views in the span of 2 days. Maybe you're not getting any answers because nobody understands the question? Posting something more than two sentences is always in your best interest.

    Complexity is something we really have to tame. With simplicity comes less questions, less confusion, and greater satisfaction with MP. Now that doesnt mean we have to strip down MP; instead we have to take the complexity away from the user and keep it behind the scenes. It's an enormous balancing act - take too much away and its not customizable enough for power users. Take nothing away and new users become confused and frustrated very easily.

    Im a huge believer in the KISS philosophy - Keep It Simple, Stupid! - But some people are not. Sometimes I have to remind myself that innovation doesnt come without complexity. It's what you do after you innovate that is important to the end user. ;)
     
  11. Commodore 64
    • Premium Supporter

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I push media to MP from a Linux file server and any of several other machines to my network. All you have to do is map the drive to your HTPC, and tell MP to look there.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!