Why my HTPC sounds worse than the CD Player even though both are connected over SPDIF | Page 2

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by BugsBunny, September 1, 2006.

  1. Henry Mac
    • Premium Supporter

    Henry Mac MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    wms process engineer
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    This one gives you headaches if you want (ac3) DD and DTS out. Forget it.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    I belive the "SoundStorm"-series was only available on nForce2 (so nForce3 was a audio-stepback).
     
  4. Henry Mac
    • Premium Supporter

    Henry Mac MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    wms process engineer
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi BugsBunny,

    I saw you have an ESI juli@. Does it work ok for you?
    I have a revolution 5.1 and I cannot suppend without lossing the spdif connection.. So I was wondering if the Juli@ is all ok?

    Sleep, hibernate.
    Passthrough of DD and DTS
    Passthrough of pcm with different sample rates.
    Other problems?

    The M-audio I now have is shitty with suspend and hibernate.
    The Z-Cyber Nightingale Pro6 gives problems with passthrough of DD and DTS (actually it just does not) The Juli@ would be my third card so I want to make sure.


    Thanks in advance.

    Henry
     
  5. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Install other (or older) drivers.. The hardware isn't to blame at all...
     
  6. Henry Mac
    • Premium Supporter

    Henry Mac MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    wms process engineer
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Really? Well I tried all kind of drivers but couldn't get it to work. It only worked directly after install but when I re-booted the ac3 pass through wasn't possible anymore. Now I do not have room in the case anymore to put the card with the digital module in there anymore. So I have to go for a single seat/slot card.
     
  7. Flerbizky

    Flerbizky Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 18, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Idiot / Admin - For now...
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I just noticed this... I haven't really given CD playing a lot of thoughts nor listen on my box.. But being a (cheapskate) purist, just knowing that my soundcard upsamples my 44.1Khz CDs to 48Khz annoys me... (ALC850) And since I can't be arsed to install a new mobo before I upgrade to a Dual Core solution, I've been tempted to try this Trust card : http://www.trust.com/products/product.aspx?artnr=12950

    It's about as expensive as dirt, kilo pr. kilo, and even comes with a Toslink cable :-|

    And according to specs found here : http://drivers.trust.nl/manuals/getmanual.asp?file=12/12950-uk-pm-3.pdf it'll output 44.1Khz..

    Has anyone else tried this card ?...

    Only thing that annoys me is I have to use the PCI slot where I was going to drop in an extra PVR500 :-(
     
  8. BugsBunny

    BugsBunny Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Tirol
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Hi Henry Mac,

    the ESI juli@ works very well for me, had a lot of problems with a RME Digi 96Pad and with a M-Audio Audiophile 192 before.

    *Hibernation I do not use because suspend to disk only saves very little time compared to a full boot.
    S3 suspend to ram works fine with the ESI juli@ in my case.
    *I only have a 2 channel AD/DA converter at the moment, so I can say nothing about DD DTS pass through.
    On the ESI Homepage it says:
    -Built in digital optical output - 5.1 Dolby digital support
    -Digital coaxial I/O (with support for up to 192kHz) - 5.1 Dolby digital support
    * Passthrough of pcm with different sample rates works perfectly - the card automatically puts out the signal with the correct sample rate (CD/MP3 44,1kHz; DVD/Video/DVB 48 kHz)
    * For me the card works perfectly with MediaPortal.

    Google for 'esi julia review' and you can find quite some info about the card.

    If you decide on the ESI juli@ or another solution, maybe you can report back here about how it works for you. It is good to know for others who are searching for an audiophile solution for their HTPC, that certain soundcards work and others not as good or are causing problems.
     
  9. Henry Mac
    • Premium Supporter

    Henry Mac MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    wms process engineer
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I think this is also a c-media card like the Z-Cyber Nightingale Pro6. It didn't work for me with the ac3 passthrough but apparantly RTV does have it working. The c-media based Z-Cyber Nightingale Pro6 does work for bit perfect audio passthrough though.
     
  10. Henry Mac
    • Premium Supporter

    Henry Mac MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    wms process engineer
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Will do. I will check out the reviews and see if it works good with DD and DTS. Third time lucky I hope :) Cheers and :D
     
  11. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Correct - they are almost identical. This card even works flawlessly with Linux - you won't get anything better for almost no money...

    There are great difference between the drivers you can find. Some need AC3-Filter and Wave-Out to do proper AC3/DTS passthrough!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!