Why my HTPC sounds worse than the CD Player even though both are connected over SPDIF | Page 3

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by BugsBunny, September 1, 2006.

  1. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    How about this card?
    http://www.trust.com/products/product.aspx?artnr=12949
     
  4. Flerbizky

    Flerbizky Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 18, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Idiot / Admin - For now...
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    [/quote]
    How about this card?
    http://www.trust.com/products/product.aspx?artnr=12949[/QUOTE]

    Not for me.. The lack of optical out makes it, for me at least, useless.. I need the only electrical digital in on my receiver for my laserdisc (Yes, I rock, I know :lol: )

    But if you're using an electrical digital connection now, I think it's just as good.. Seems to be the same card, bar the digital inputs and the optical in/out...
     
  5. Henry Mac
    • Premium Supporter

    Henry Mac MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    wms process engineer
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    From the ESI forum:
    Yes, you can send out any DTS signal with Juli@ as long as the software you use for playback supports it. The encoding format of the DTS signal (5.1, 6.1, etc.) does not matter for that as the signal is sent out 1:1. Of course if a signal is only 5.1 (e.g. on a DVD playback), Juli@ (or any other audiohardware) cannot magically create a 6.1 signal out of it. The speaker system / decoder could do that however, by copying signals.

    So that probably means DTS ES as well :D
    I will give it a try.

    Thanks all.
     
  6. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    [off topic]Is there anyway to use SPDIF-in from from STB bia soundcard (like above mentioned Thrust)?[/of-topic]
     
  7. BugsBunny

    BugsBunny Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Tirol
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
  8. Henry Mac
    • Premium Supporter

    Henry Mac MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    wms process engineer
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    ESI Juli@

    Just got the Juli@ in and tested it.

    Sample rates all ok
    DTS ok
    Dolby Digital ok
    Sleep and hibernate ok.

    Too bad it is quite expensive but then again all problems with audio are now gone.
    I am a happy man :D
     
  9. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    good hardware is always the key to success.. The chain principe ;)
     
  10. heine

    heine New Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    after hours of struggle to enable passthrough on my aureon 5.1, I've finally found a solution:
    cmediadrivers - Google Code
    these drivers work flawlessly on my htpc machine. from what I gathered, several other cmedia cards are also supported which are mentioned in this thread, e.g. the nightingale.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!