AC3/DTS through spdif possible w/ analog through line-out?

Discussion in 'General Support' started by hansdegit, October 5, 2005.

  1. hansdegit

    hansdegit Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Database specialist
    Location:
    Schagen, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi All,



    I've built a vga->SCART cable which also has the audio pins connected to the line-out of my HTPC. I wonder whether it is possible to output the sound of an AC3 or DTS stream to line-out (in stereo, of course) and simultaniously output this stream digitally to my receiver. Just like any ordinary DVD player is capable of.

    My guess is that I need an extra tee-codec for this purpose, because -for example- AC3filter bypasses line-out when "spdif passthru" is checked.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. dman_lfc
    • Team MediaPortal

    dman_lfc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    Sales Manager
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yeah - don't use AC3Filter.
    Search the tips & tricks on how to do it with the Intervideo Audio decoder.

    DMAN
     
  4. hansdegit

    hansdegit Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Database specialist
    Location:
    Schagen, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    DMAN,

    Thx. Of course, I searched in this forum for a solution to this problem.

    Ac3/DTS/DD through SPDIF is not the challenge. The magic word in my fisrt post was "simultaniously". That is: simultaniously output DTS/DD via spdif to receiver and stereo through line-out to TV.

    It is not clear that the posts pertain to this issue. At least, not to me.

    I a Dutch forum (got.tweakers.net) someone told me this was not possible due to a limitation in hardware. But I figured: why would an ordinary product like a standalone DVD player be capable of doing this while a sophisticated product like an HTPC can not?

    I find this hard to believe.
     
  5. denybear

    denybear Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Actually, I have exactly the same request. My PS2 outputs sound simultaneously through both SPDIF and Scart, and I don't understand why this is not possible with a HTPC...

    Reason : use standard TV sound output for kiddies' Disneys, and use SPDIF and home cinema for when I watch "serious" movies... without having to tweak around through hundreds of menus and setups.

    Does someone know how to do this (if possible) ?
     
  6. kamrat

    kamrat Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have the same problem. When I watch a channel with AC3-audio I don't get any sound from my tv-set, only the reciever.

    If hardware is limiting this possibility maybe the switching could be made easier in the software.

    Maybe it could be possible to have the option to enable/disable SPDIF-out in the audio channel menu that appears when you right-click on the television image?
    It would also be nice if you could have a hotkey to do this. Let´s say the "A"-key toggles between SPDIF on/off.
     
  7. dman_lfc
    • Team MediaPortal

    dman_lfc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    Sales Manager
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes I know what you meant and yes it works just fine here using the Intervideo codec.

    DMAN
     
  8. denybear

    denybear Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks DMAN,
    But can you please be more precise ?

    I've spent a couple of hours trying to configure the Intervideo codec, but I couldn't find out how you actually specify AC3 SPDIF + stereo.

    What are your exact settings ?
    Thanks.
     
  9. dman_lfc
    • Team MediaPortal

    dman_lfc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    Sales Manager
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  10. hansdegit

    hansdegit Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Database specialist
    Location:
    Schagen, The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Just checkin' to see whether I understand all this.

    We use the intervideo codec to send a stereo signal to line out, by means of a registry tweak.
    We use ffdshow to send the DTS to spdif.

    right?
     
  11. dman_lfc
    • Team MediaPortal

    dman_lfc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    Sales Manager
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No no no - use Intervideo Audio and SPDIF registry settings.
    Use Inetrvideo Audio codec for TV, DVD & Video's which have AC3.
    Throw FFDshow in the bin.

    By default it will push sound via SPIF & Stereo jack.

    i.e. On your external receiver choose the SPDIF input and you'll have DD sound - choose your Stereo input and you'll have stereo sound.

    DMAN
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!