[Pending] - Add hyperlink parameter to TvPlugin to enhance menu options | Page 3

Discussion in 'Submit: code patches (MediaPortal/TV-Server/etc.)' started by mbuzina, February 28, 2012.

  1. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Can we have option to start TV plugin with



    1. Start Current channel playing fullscreen and miniguide in front
    2. No TV playing but miniguide in front of black screen
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Why do we need this? Seems like an unusual thing to add. How hard is it to press the buttons on the remote to get to this point?

    Sorry, but I think this is adding complexity for most users to cater for a very few.
     
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I prefer the miniguide as the entry point into watching tv.

    Advantages are:
    More responsive - (dont have to wait for channel to tune in before being able to use GUI)
    Simplier - Less clutter than EPG - just shows you channel name + now/next.
    Faster - Allows direct access into the channel you want to watch with minimal button presses
     
    Last edited: September 22, 2012
  5. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Fundamentally, this sort of issue is MediaPortal's biggest strength, and also its biggest problem. Making it possible to configure absolutely everything is great, but it adds complexity.

    I don't dictate what can and cannot be included, but to me, and argument about saving one or two clicks in one specific instance, but adding complexity to skinners seems wrong. If this is included, then every skin could potentially behave differently.
     
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    that's fine thanks for consideration. I'm not a big fan of the tv home screen has a lot of options that are would be better in a sub menu as I would guess 90% of the time people go into tv home to either watch a live channel or watch a tv recording, rather than turn tv streams on / off manage future recordings etc etc. I think it would be great to just have a selection of channels when entering live tv rather than the plethora of options.

    Starting with the tv mini guide overlay active and no active channel behind it, is not something that can not be currently done with any number of clicks.
     
    Last edited: September 22, 2012
  7. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I fully agree with you here. We should not add "half-finished" stuff and the later we don't have the time to "fix" it. Patch should be finished first. (Radio support) and then we can add it it. So no rush.
    Maybe it will be even easier with the radio and tv alignment @jameson_uk working on?
     
  8. mbuzina
    • Team MediaPortal

    mbuzina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +723 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Will this result in the change not being able to make it into 1.3 at all? Would be a pity. I will see how quick I can provide the patch
     
    • Like Like x 3
  9. Sinbe

    Sinbe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 12, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    I'm trying to get this patch to work with VoxCommando, but no luck so far. I'm using the dll for 1.2.2 posted by mbuzina in this thread. I'm using voxcommando's MPWifi plugin to send the command:

    MpWifi.ActivateWindow:1&&FullScreen(MTV3)

    But it just activates Window 1 and the parameter doesn't seem to do anything. OnlineVideos works fine with the command:

    MpWifi.ActivateWindow:4755&&site:YouTube

    So parameters in general work fine, but the not for TV section with this patch. Anyone have an idea what' might be the cause?
     
  10. mbuzina
    • Team MediaPortal

    mbuzina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +723 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Sorry - don't know what is Happening. Unfortunatly I currently have no dev Environment to work on, so I can not even build a debug version...

    But check the log in Debug mode. It should Show if the TVHome is called with Parameters or not (check for TVHome:OnPageLoad if it is showing up twice, 2nd with Parameters).
     
  11. Sinbe

    Sinbe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 12, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    After checking the logs it actually does seem to start the stream on the right channel, but gives some kind of a directshow error and closes the stream before I get any picture. I'll look into it and try to find out what's going on. This doesn't happen with the standard dll.

    Edit: TV works perfectly normal with the modified dll aswell. Just not with the MpWifi command. When trying to start with MpWifi I get the following error:
    Code (Text):
    1. 2012-12-11 16:04:55.341334 [ERROR][(12)]: DirectshowUtil. Failed to add filter:MediaPortal - Audio Renderer to graph :COM object that has been separated from its underlying RCW cannot be used. DirectShowLib at DirectShowLib.IGraphBuilder.EnumFilters(IEnumFilters& ppEnum)
    2.  
    3. at DShowNET.Helper.DirectShowUtil.AddAudioRendererToGraph(IGraphBuilder graphBuilder, String strFilterName, Boolean setAsReferenceClock)
    4.  
    5. 2012-12-11 16:04:55.348334 [ERROR][(12)]: TSReaderPlayer: Exception while creating DShow graph Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    6.  
    7. 2012-12-11 16:04:55.348334 [ERROR][(12)]: TSReaderPlayer:GetInterfaces() failed
    Any idea what this might be? Should I contact the dev of MPAR?


    Edit2: Disabled MPAR and no more erros. However the channel still won't start. Log shows the following:
    Code (Text):
    1. 2012-12-11 16:21:55.489683 [Debug][(21)]: Window: TvPlugin.TVHome deinit
    2. 2012-12-11 16:21:55.490683 [Debug][(21)]: TextureManager: CleanupThumbs()
    3. 2012-12-11 16:21:56.156721 [Debug][(21)]: Window: TvPlugin.TVHome init
    4. 2012-12-11 16:21:56.156721 [Info.][(21)]: TVHome:OnPageLoad
    5. 2012-12-11 16:21:56.156721 [Debug][(21)]: TVHome:OnPageLoad "FullScreen(Nelonen)" command "FullScreen" commandValue "Nelonen"
    6. 2012-12-11 16:21:56.157721 [Debug][(21)]: TVHome: OnPageLoad switching to parametered channel Nelonen
    7. 2012-12-11 16:21:56.157721 [Info.][(21)]: tv home init:Nelonen
    8. 2012-12-11 16:21:56.157721 [Info.][(21)]: tv home init:Nelonen done
    9. 2012-12-11 16:22:25.654409 [Debug][(10)]: Window: TvPlugin.TVHome deinit
    10. 2012-12-11 16:22:25.655409 [Debug][(10)]: TextureManager: CleanupThumbs()
    11. 2012-12-11 16:22:26.583462 [Debug][(10)]: Window: TvPlugin.TVHome init
    12. 2012-12-11 16:22:26.583462 [Info.][(10)]: TVHome:OnPageLoad
    13. 2012-12-11 16:22:26.583462 [Debug][(10)]: TVHome:OnPageLoad "FullScreen(Nelonen)" command "FullScreen" commandValue "Nelonen"
    14. 2012-12-11 16:22:26.584462 [Debug][(10)]: TVHome: OnPageLoad switching to parametered channel Nelonen
    15. 2012-12-11 16:22:26.584462 [Info.][(10)]: tv home init:Nelonen
    16. 2012-12-11 16:22:26.584462 [Info.][(10)]: tv home init:Nelonen done

    Edit3: Getting the first error again now for some reason:
    Code (Text):
    1. 2012-12-11 16:39:08.942793 [ERROR][(34)]: TSReaderPlayer: Exception while creating DShow graph COM object that has been separated from its underlying RCW cannot be used.
    2. 2012-12-11 16:39:08.942793 [ERROR][(34)]: TSReaderPlayer:GetInterfaces() failed
    I'm starting to think there are two different problems I'm encountering. One is that the channel just doesn't start for no apparent reason (Log in edit2) and the other has something to do with the audio renderer (logs in edit1 and edit3). Neither one of those happen when not using MpWifi to send the command. The audio renderer problem happens with both, DirectSound and MPAudioRenderer. The "not starting" problem seems to be quite random.
     
    Last edited: December 11, 2012
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!