[Approved] - Allow plugins as Screensavers | Page 2

Discussion in 'Submit: code patches (MediaPortal/TV-Server/etc.)' started by sccrgoalie1, October 1, 2013.

  1. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Sorry, not sure I understand I created a separate branch in my fork called "Screensaver." That's the only spot where I've pushed my changes. I'm new to git, so sorry if this is a beginner mistake.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    2,544
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,216 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  4. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Any chance this will get merged for the next release?
     
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,270
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  6. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    • Like Like x 1
  7. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    2,544
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,216 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    one question : plugins should have special code inside, for to be detected as compatible plugins for screensaver, or all plugins can be set ?
     
  8. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    The way it's built any plugin could be set as screensaver. I'm not sure it's necessary to build a whole separate special code for screensaver plugins, but if the team thinks we need this is could be done.
     
  9. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    2,544
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,216 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    was only for understand.
    because i'm affraid for users want use any plugins with it, and causing crash.
    but it's only supposition ...
    thank you for your reply
     
  10. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Makes sense. There isn't any reason it would cause a crash as it launches the plugin just like it would be launched anywhere else. There is a chance a user would choose a plugin that doesn't do anything (to prevent screenburn etc) and therefore isn't a good candidate for a screensaver, but it's up to the users discretion.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I discovered a minor bug in the configuration tool. How do I submit this fix now that it's a branch of Media Portal?

    Specifically, in the GuiScreensaver class this line:

    Code (Text):
    1. xmlreader.SetValue("general", "IdlePluginWindow", loadedPlugins[pluginsComboBox.SelectedIndex].WindowId);
    Needs to change to this

    Code (Text):
    1.  if (loadedPlugins.Count > -1)
    2.         {
    3.           xmlreader.SetValue("general", "IdlePluginWindow", loadedPlugins[pluginsComboBox.SelectedIndex].WindowId);
    4.         }
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!