[Android] Android remote | Page 7

Discussion in 'WebService and Mobile Access' started by kroko, November 24, 2010.

  1. d3vkit

    d3vkit Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 2, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I can't get the remote part to work at all on my phone.
    Mediaportal 1.1.2, Motorola Droid running Froyo (2.2.1)

    I installed the plugin and set it to my computers ip on the network, 192.168.1.102. Then, chose a port: 42356. Went to the router and forwarded 42356 to .102. Installed plugin to Droid, set ip and port.

    Whenever I enter the remote interface of the app, I press a button and it vibrates and then does nothing, and becomes unresponsive. It also says to swipe left for more remotes, but swiping does nothing. (Just figured out that first I need to hit options to see more remotes/keyboards/etc). Phone might be too old but I wouldn't think this app would be all that intensive. My best guess is that it's freezing as it sends the signal and something happens.

    I can open mediaportal and then my browser and put in 192.168.1.102:42356/info.xml, or pictures, etc, and get results. Also, in the app when I enter the pictures section, it shows me my drives and pictures.



    In the meantime I've been using Eventghost and Eventghost for Android, but setup is a bit more than I want to do, so this would be a great app if I could get it to work. Any help appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. joz

    joz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    153
    Occupation:
    J2ME / PHP programmer
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    d3vkit:

    May I ask why you forwarded the port thru NAT? Are you intending to use this app outside of your home network (do not really see any use for that myself)?
    If not then skip the port forward, it's not needed for traffic that's coming from inside your network (it is when it's coming from WAN/internet).

    You say you specify IP but considering the above I have no idea whether you have setup your WAN IP on your android phone or the internal LAN IP. I would think WAN, otherwise the portforward doesn't make sense at all. If that's the case, test first only inside your LAN. When that works try it from WAN.
     
  4. Spooky
    • Premium Supporter

    Spooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    void 4tl
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Re: [Plugin] Android remote

    Media Portal will be added in the upcoming Version 2.0: Unified Remote :)



    Well, it's also a 2-way remote for the applications it supports. We don't know what features it will support for MP though (besides basic remote controlling).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. tomypreach

    tomypreach New Member

    Joined:
    November 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Im having the same problem on my hero.

    So, I CAN connect to the mediaserver. The proff is that when i start a movie/show the titel pops up on the phone. I can browse the picture and musik folders.

    But simply can't use the remote. It crashes.

    I can only say thank you for your time and great work !

    Thanks !
     
  6. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    210
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: [Android] Android remote

    Hi folks,

    today I updated my files so some of this nasty bugs should be fixed. Grab the new files on the first post.

    What's new ?

    -add video section
    -stream to phone (via vlc, if installed)
    -a lot of bug fixed
    -more remote buttons
    -fixed WakeOnLan
    -fixed powercontrol / keyboard lock
    -threaded caching pictures
    -speed up (single core still a bit slow..)
    -some other small changes

    Take a look at the screenshots too.
    BTW I almost brick my samsung flashing froyo.... but now it works.... arg great.

    So far
    kroko
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. mardup

    mardup Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 24, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Toulouse
    Ratings:
    +8 / 1
    Home Country:
    France France
    Re : [Android] Android remote

    Hello ...
    Firdt thanks a lot for working on a remote for our android devices !!!

    I havz a problem with Playing videos on my device : i only have sound, no picture :-(

    Any idea ?
     
  8. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    210
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: [Android] Android remote

    Hi mardup,

    try different files just to make sure it is not that particular file or type ( avi, flv or mp4)
    I had also sometimes problems transcoding flv files. (no picture sometimes)

    Also you should be able to see the stream opening a vlc player with this adress:

    rtsp://ServerIP:5554/MediaPortal.sdp

    What device you are having ? Give me more information please.
    I will put the init string for vlc into a INI file in the next release. This gives you the posibility to tweak it...

    kroko
     
  9. doing23

    doing23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Force Close if i want open it since the update.
    Phone: Wildfire with Froyo 2.2.1 Stock
     
  10. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    210
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: [Android] Android remote

    Hi doing23,

    a change disabled my crash report sending function. Please reload the APK and try again. If it crashed restart and send the report. Thanks.

    kroko
     
  11. doing23

    doing23 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Re: AW: [Android] Android remote

    Hey kroko

    can't send any report. no crash report button in crash dialog.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!