ASIO playback

Discussion in 'Listen Music' started by grahamb64, August 8, 2015.

  1. grahamb64

    grahamb64 New Member

    Joined:
    August 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Hi to all.

    I've just installed the latest version of Mediaportal 1, primarily for the recording live TV side of it, and, after sorting the usual teething problems with the scanning of channels and EPG grabbing, am finding it a perfect replacement for WMC, which I'm about to lose due to, well, you know.



    Anyway, the other attraction behind installing MP was the prospect of being able to play music from my (currently) W7 PC through my Denon A300 DAC using the ASIO option within MP Configuration, except that this seems impossible to do.

    I'm fairly certain that I've configured everything that I need to. Firstly, I've made the Denon USB audio device on my PC the default device in playback devices, setting the sample rate to 24-bit/192Khz (the display on the DAC shows 192 Khz when I switch it to USB connection); then I've gone to music player settings in MP config, made the player box show ASIO and then made sure that the device box shows Denon ASIO device as the sound device. However, when I try to play music in MP, an error window pops up, telling me that the file cannot be played. I've tried adjusting the buffer within the device but that makes no difference.

    So, anyone know what's going on? Anyone got any suggestions to make or know whether I'm missing something. If the option has been made available to use ASIO then I'd like to get it to work, if possible of course. :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  4. grahamb64

    grahamb64 New Member

    Joined:
    August 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Hi Helios61, thanks for the reply.

    I've done the system specs bit (hope there's enough info there) and also done the debug thing. The log file should be attached.

    Hope it helps...
     
  5. grahamb64

    grahamb64 New Member

    Joined:
    August 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    BTW, is that link you've posted supposed to direct me to the Pureaudio plug-in? If so. I've tried to install it but I get an error saying "Dependency check error! Install aborted! Would you like to view more details?" and Yes/No boxes to tick. Is that due to MP moving on a bit in development and the plug-in not being updated for nearly 4 years? It's not even listed in MPExt Manager despite the claim on the plug-in's home page that it is.
     
  6. grahamb64

    grahamb64 New Member

    Joined:
    August 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    In addition, I decided that I might be looking at the wrong thread and decided to look at this thread instead: https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/version-2-8-0-beta.124267/

    Having installed it, however, I now find that I can't even access my music - when I rest the cursor on the Music tab the screen changes to the music screen but when I click, it reverts back to the first screen.

    I've provided a log of this problem too if you'd like to review it. :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. Edalex
    • Premium Supporter

    Edalex Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,897
    Likes Received:
    708
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saratov
    Ratings:
    +1,222 / 9
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    In your previous logs you have BASS_ERROR_UNKNOWN ( and a lot of HID remore control errors)
    Maybe @hwahrmann as our main Music dev could help here
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    BASS_ERROR_UNKNOWN often comes from a too large buffer setting. Try to lower that and see if that helps.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. grahamb64

    grahamb64 New Member

    Joined:
    August 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Ok, I've tried lower buffer settings, from 64 samples (min) up to around 1000 samples, but it makes no difference. Is there nothing in the log that I've provided that sticks out like a sore thumb? I'm kinda hoping there is.

    Also, I've been wondering: those of you that take an interest in this sort of thing, what components are you using to get your music from A (PC) to B (speakers)? And what settings have you made within the Music config section of MP, or indeed, any config section, which has allowed you to use ASIO to play your music?
     
  10. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I've setup MP for WASAPI playback, HDMI connecton pc <-> Receiver. It is working great up to 24 bit, 192 kHz, 5.1 channel. ->

    Screenshot_1.JPG Screenshot_2.JPG
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. grahamb64

    grahamb64 New Member

    Joined:
    August 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    After some more tinkering, I've found that I can play music using the WASAPI option through the USB option on my DAC. Still unable to use ASIO though.

    I've noticed that MP is 32-bit only. Is that right? I ask because I'm running W7 64 and the driver install for the DAC has both 32 bit and 64 bit options so I've obviously installed the 64 bit option. Could that be where the ASIO playback problem lies?

    Also, I'm wondering if a re-installation of MP might help, as maybe a corrupted install has caused the BASS_ERROR_UNKNOWN problem?

    Lastly, is the ASIOforall download treated as a stand-alone sound device by Windows and is it worth trying that to see if that solves anything?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!