Auto-updating TV Logos

Discussion in 'General' started by Anthony Parry, January 1, 2018.

  1. Anthony Parry

    Anthony Parry Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Happy new year to all MP people!

    Is there a way to turn off the new auto-update of logos?

    I have all my own logos, all up to date and just how i want them, but every couple of weeks MP decides to overwrite them all, and it takes many attempts to replace them again as it just keeps downloading the stock ones.

    I have tried setting the logod to 'read only' but then MP doesnt seem to see my logos at all :(



    Help!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    4,567
    Ratings:
    +6,527 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Happy new year to you as well :)

    You should be able to achieve this by a few manual steps:
    • Copy the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\Plugins\SlimTv.Resources\Designs\Flat-default.logotheme" into a new "C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\Plugins\SlimTv.Resources\Designs\Flat-local.logotheme" (or similar, just keep the "Flat-" prefix!)
    • Open the Flat-local.logotheme in text editor. Change the theme name and add a "SkipOnlineUpdate" line:
    Code (XML):
    1.   <ThemeName>Local</ThemeName>
    2.   <SkipOnlineUpdate>true</SkipOnlineUpdate>
    3.  
    • Save the file
    • Restart MP2-Server + MP2-Client
    • Goto settings -> TV -> Logo style and select the new "Flat-Local" theme.
    Because having a copy of style now, this theme will be kept also when updates are installed. I hope this solves your issue :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Anthony Parry

    Anthony Parry Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    That worked a charm!

    Many thanks!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    4,567
    Ratings:
    +6,527 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I checked the current code base and found that the new "SkipOnlineUpdate" is not yet considered in code. I now have added the check logic and created a patch.
    You can extract this file to C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\Plugins\SlimTv.Resources folder (stop MP2-Server before).
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Anthony Parry

    Anthony Parry Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    I've done that as well now.

    Thank you
     
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,788
    Likes Received:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,107 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    As you know, logos are stored in a central repo. If you believe those are in error, you may either upload suggestions online (see Update Logos) or post them in a logo thread for me to take a look at. I may then decide to upload them myself into the repository.
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,788
    Likes Received:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,107 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I'd suggest that we add a configuration option for blocking the automatic updates.
     
  9. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    4,567
    Ratings:
    +6,527 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The intention is not to have a global option, but to allow a theme to decide if it should get updated or not. This way you can have both: either use the supplied themes that do auto-update or use a customized theme that never updates. And you can switch between them from settings.
     
  10. Anthony Parry

    Anthony Parry Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 25, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs

    I didn't really know this, I've always provided my own logos (I have OCD and everything has to be correct!) so have never really looked into the supplied logos.

    I have attached a file of all the UK TV logos I use for various things, the ones i use for MP scale well into the GUI and so should be ok. The logos are the current ones for all the channels. Some are not perfect (mainly the recent Sky updates) as there are not yet high quality versions of these online to adapt. Feel free to use any logos here to update the repo - though they may not fit in well as the repo logos seem to have an outline around the logo (I guess to make them appear well with any background) and mine are the pure logos.

    Thanks

    Anthony
     

    Attached Files:

    • UK Logos.zip
      File size:
      4 MB
      Uploaded:
      January 1, 2018
      Views:
      12
  11. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,788
    Likes Received:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,107 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Nope, the outline is generated by MP2 upon displaying. You can also control this in your theme, again see the WIki entry for details.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!