Automatically start MP fullscreen on secondary display | Page 3

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by dhannema, January 4, 2006.

  1. dhannema

    dhannema Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Re: great job...



    Yes, mp_start will automatically start mediaportal if the specified path is correct. This is essential. Starting mediaportal yourself does not work.

    In your case you would like to start mp_start with the following command:

    mp_start "C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe"
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. dhannema

    dhannema Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Plz try http://www.geocities.com/don_hannema/mp_start_debug.zip and post the results...
     
  4. bored

    bored Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Re: great job...

    thats it, but how to change that command?
     
  5. jawbroken

    jawbroken Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 13, 2005
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Afghanistan Afghanistan
    It is a command line argument. You can create a shortcut to mp_start and add the path on the shortcut list, or create a .bat file that runs it with the path, etc. There are many ways to get it working.
     
  6. bored

    bored Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ok, i see that this little problem can be easily solved... in fact i just didnt really understand how, maybe you could describe that shortcut-solution for a beginner like me... that would be a great help..

    so:
    a) i create a shortcut to mp_start
    b) i add the path "C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe" to the shortcut list.. only problem: what shortcut list?

    i guess the .bat-file solution might be far too difficult for me ;-)

    hope you can help me
    greetz bored
     
  7. dhannema

    dhannema Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    It's very easy, follow these steps:
    1. rightclick on your desktop
    2. select New -> Shortcut
    3. copy-pase this location:

    c:\mp_start.exe "C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe"

    This assumes that you have mp_start.exe located in your c:\ folder; if you have it on your desktop, use something like c:\documents and settings\bored\desktop\mp_start.exe
    4. click next
    5. click finish

    Now you can start mp_start using the icon on your desktop.
     
  8. bored

    bored Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thx for that detailed description, now it works perfectly ;-)

    other question, maybe you can help me:
    is it possible to start MP with my remote using that shortcut ?
    i use PCTV remote and changed the profiles.ini from

    ; start MediaPortal with Remote
    key1006=EXEC C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe| -10ft -full

    to the shortcut (not desktop but the mediaportal-folder):

    ; start MediaPortal with Remote
    key1006=EXEC C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Verknüpfung mit MediaPortal.exe.lnk| -10ft -full

    ("Verknüpfung mit Mediaportal.exe.lnk" is the name of the shortcut i created)
    but nothing happens... :-(
     
  9. dhannema

    dhannema Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
     
  10. bored

    bored Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 7, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ja, as you feared, the ini file cant handle such a command but i tried to create the bat-file and it partly worked...

    what i did:
    1) mp_start.exe is placed in mediaportal-folder C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\mp_start.exe

    2) mpstart.bat is placed in the same folder with the command:
    mp_start.exe "C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe"

    3) i changed the exec-command in the ini-file to:
    ; start MediaPortal with Remote
    key1006=EXEC C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\mpstart.bat| -10ft -full

    so when i open mpstart.bat directly it works perfectly, but when using my remote only for less than a second i can see a small window opening and closing... thats it...

    kind of weird, cause the bat-file seems to work when opening it directly but not when using the same file with my remote, although something opens...

    maybe you know whtas wrong, or maybe i wanna have to give up.. anyway great thanks for your help til now ;-)
     
  11. dhannema

    dhannema Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 4, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I see what's happening.
    Change the content of the batch file to include the full path names:

    "C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\mp_start.exe" "C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal.exe"
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!