Bugs and improvements (incl. themes) | Page 2

Discussion in 'BlueVision' started by ge2301, September 29, 2015.

  1. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    1,577
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +2,372 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    That means, there are virtual keys defined for all kind of actions?
    For example I found for TV-EPG view the mapping of green and yellow button, as seen also on the example mock-up.
    Code (XML):
    1.         <KeyBinding Key="Yellow" Command="{Command Path=NextGroup}"/>
    2.         <KeyBinding Key="Green" Command="{Command Path=PrevGroup}"/>
    It seems that those keys are hard coded only for a screen, so mapping with the input manager for those actions is not possible, right?



    Trying to understand, but the navigation is still a black-box for me and I fully agree with you. It needs to be improved.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    As I said I am not 100% sure, but I think you are right.
    The screen binds to these virtual keys. So you can't change this from within the gui. With my plugin you can map for example "strg+y" to the virtual key "Yellow"
    So if you than press "strg+y" it will execute "NextGroup".

    Yes, there is Key.EPG, Key.Home etc.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. mrj

    mrj Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 27, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    45
    Ratings:
    +101 / 1
    Show System Specs
  5. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    1,577
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +2,372 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Referring to this post https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/plugin-emulators.132573/#post-1158544 I'd like to propose following:
    • New "Game" GroupMenuItem as access point to the great MyEmulator plugin from Bownard. Also other small games could be added here later.
    • Option in BV settings with all GroupMenuItems listed (Home, Image, Audio, VideoHub, Games, News, Settings, Others) and possibility to deactivate GroupMenuItems (besides Settings)
     
  6. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    4,766
    Ratings:
    +6,826 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Sounds more a task for a menu designer tool ;) Adding a setting for each group item is not the best way.

    The menu structure is already very flexible, but I don't have any good idea how to implement this inside MP2 GUI. The group items will be possible, they only have a Guid and Text. But the placement of "tiles" on screen is tricky from point of user input:

    We already have a Grid defined for layouting, which allows us to place items in specific position and to define cell/rowspans to control size.

    The best thing would be to have the grid cells "interactive". Some ideas:
    1. Click on one cell:
      • empty cell: opens a selection of new tile (workflow action by plugin)
      • used cell: option to remove / continue to 2nd step
    2. Then we need to define cell/row spans. A "drag and drop" (or resize) will not work for remote control input, so we need to create an action for this. Either a dialog to define both numbers manually or we allow selection of predefined sizes
     
  7. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    4,766
    Ratings:
    +6,826 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    KeyBindings can be added in different contexts:
    • Global:
      • Plugins: This is done for example by StatisticsRenderer which maps "F10" key
      • Workflow-Shortcuts: defined by plugins in ...-workflow.xml
    • Per Screen:
      • A screen can define key bindings, like you quoted above.
    The execution order is always from most specific to common one: first screen defined, then globals. If one is executed, the event will be canceled (no further actions).
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    1,577
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +2,372 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    What are the arguments against the same as done for "home"? :) A small PopUpDialog:
    Unbenannt.jpg
    All data itself would be available, just the user can decide what he likes to see. If I for example do not have a TV card, then I'd like to hide the "TV" symbol in GroupMenu.

    I like your ideas, being able to configure the menu itmes in GUI is always something like a "dream".
    I think it can be also done by remote. You could focus a cell in a grid (not selectable cells can be greyed out). Selecting it with ok changes to scale mode, with curser user can select the opposite corner and a range for the MenuItem is created between both "points". Pressing ok again let you then assign the Action-Guid.

    When you plan something in this direction, we should inform @Lehmden, so he can save his time to create an external editor. The external editor would be easier to realize, but of course I'd prefer the ideal in GUI solution :sneaky:
     
  9. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    4,766
    Ratings:
    +6,826 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    In principle ok to hide some groups. But the actual menu items then will not disappear, they will be just moved to "Others" category.
     
  10. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    1,577
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +2,372 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Ah ok, thats indeed a good argument. Forgot that the "Home" is an exception. Well, but even the items are moved to others, it can be still an attractive option to keep the GroupMenu "lean and clean".
    As I mentioned, the TV icon would annoy me, if I won't have a TV-tuner. Having the hidden "menu items" automatically in "Others" can be also helpful for the case you forgot about the settings and by time miss certain entries. You will always know where to find the "lost" entries -> Others
     
  11. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,901
    Likes Received:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,628 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    With an external Editor (means by editing the "MediaPortal.UiComponents.BlueVision.Settings.MenuSettings.xml") you can remove a group completely from being shown. Only exception is the group "Others". This group always is visible and here are all items shown that are not part of any other group... So if you don't use TV inside MP2 the TV group easily can be removed by deleting those lines in "MediaPortal.UiComponents.BlueVision.Settings.MenuSettings.xml":
    Code (XML):
    1.       <GroupItemSetting>
    2.         <Name>[Menu.TV]</Name>
    3.         <Id>e32bbacf-56c6-406e-9576-ea68271f053c</Id>
    4.       </GroupItemSetting>
    5.  
    but not the individual links like MultiEPG, Schedules,... that are defined by those lines:

    Code (XML):
    1.               <PairOfGuidGridPosition>
    2.                 <Key>7d68c459-ee9b-4eaa-ae2c-c2c365139aee</Key>
    3.                 <Value>
    4.                   <Row>3</Row>
    5.                   <RowSpan>3</RowSpan>
    6.                   <Column>11</Column>
    7.                   <ColumnSpan>5</ColumnSpan>
    8.                 </Value>
    9.               </PairOfGuidGridPosition>
    If you remove this Tag the corresponding entry will be shown in "Others" then...

    I've successfully tried this for my personal setup already. E.G. I've removes the "Videos" Tile from the Mediahub Group as I prefer "Browse Media" a lot over "Videos".

    What I don't tried yet is if it works to add a completely new group here. (Would be great if this works). And I also would like to have is an option to add views and/or filters directly to the group. E.G. I have created a group called "Series". In this group I like to have tiles "All", "Recently added", "Unwatched",... Each of those tiles leads directly to the corresponding view... It's nearly the same as the "Hyperlink Parameter" option available in MP1 Skin Engine. That is a great thing for an individual and flexible menu structure, something I really liked about MP1.

    I don't see this as a waste of time. I'm absolutely sure I'm not the only one who likes complex configuration options in an external tool rather than in GUI. Imho one of the worst things on Kodi is the absence of an external configuration tool to bundle all the options easy usable at one place. Kodi is a configuration nightmare, and MP2 is heading into the same direction, if anything needs to be inside the GUI... Some options that are (more or less) used daily (like e.g. trigger a manual refresh of a share, change the skin or theme,...) are great to be done from inside the GUI. But others like entering the credentials to access the NAS or editing the database are better be done in an external tool. Generally spoken, if the work is done with a few clicks, it better can be done inside the GUI. But if it is a more complex work (like editing a menu structure or a database) this better can be done in an external tool with mouse/keyboard...

    So in the long term I nevertheless want to write an external tool to configure MP2 from outside with mouse and keyboard... But before this we first need to have the HTTP server replaced by Owin so it's possible to edit the ML and settings without the need to fiddle with the Database files directly (as it is now), the main reason why MP2-Edit is not developed any further as it is now.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!