Cable Card...problem... feature??? | Page 2

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by Zeze21, December 17, 2012.

  1. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I guess you learn something new everyday. I did not see this one coming though :)
     
  4. Zeze21
    • Premium Supporter

    Zeze21 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Med Student
    Location:
    BY
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Guys now that some time has passed -actually over a year. Is there any news on the DVB-C front? I would really love to see this working in MediaPortal, as this card is cheap considering all the options dvbviewer gets out of it (i mean for me it is basically a dvb-c/s2/t card - where else would you get somthing like this for just around 100€?)
    I know Hauppauge says it's only DVB-S2/T but as i have proofen it can handle dvb-c quite nice. In fact now i can switch channels on dvbviewer without having to restart the programm.
    Unfortunately I have not heard back from @mm1352000 and he did not react to my PM anymore. I am afraid that my technical understanding is by far not good enough to do this thing on my own but i would be glad to give all information needed to anyone who would be willing to help me (and others)
    Cheers and a happy new year (another one since the last post ;) )
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello Zeze21

    No news I'm afraid.

    I see your PM now. I'm sorry I didn't respond - at the time I was taking a break from all work on MP (not visiting the forum, not working on the code).

    If you're willing to try another TeamViewer session, I do have one idea which might help...

    mm
     
  6. Zeze21
    • Premium Supporter

    Zeze21 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Med Student
    Location:
    BY
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Sure I'll send you a PM if you have time right now (or whenever I am just a medschool student so i got time on my hands :D )
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  8. Zeze21
    • Premium Supporter

    Zeze21 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Med Student
    Location:
    BY
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    For the record, we managed to make it work. The trick was to set the modulation on the locator supplied in the tuning request to 256 QAM. Normally we set it to ModNotSet. The tuner wouldn't seem to accept a DVBCLocator... maybe because it needed the bandwidth to be set. In any case, I'm sorry to say there is no way I could add this as a patch to TV Server. It is too much of a hack. But, anybody is free to compile their own version of the TV library DLL. Simply add:
    Code (Text):
    1. locator.put_Modulation(ModulationType.Mod256Qam);
    ...in TvCardDVBT.cs BeforeTune() after
    Code (Text):
    1. _tuningSpace.get_DefaultLocator(out locator);
    mm
    :)
     
  10. Zeze21
    • Premium Supporter

    Zeze21 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Med Student
    Location:
    BY
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This is amazing and thank you so much for all your hard work but i do have a question: Do i have to scan for every channel individually?
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No, not unless you want to.
    You should be able to treat the tuner like a DVB-C tuner now. In other words, you can create a list of frequencies and add them to the set of DVB-T tuning details in c:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\TuningParameters\dvbt. Then it should be possible to scan all frequencies.

    If you want, I can come back on TeamViewer and help with this...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!