CECRemote [0.9.7] | Page 10

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by Tuomaa, November 21, 2012.

  1. Tuomaa

    Tuomaa Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 21, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Is remote controller in this case something else than TV remote? There isn't currently separate detection for away mode, I consider supporting this in the future versions.

    What BSOD's do you get?

     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. findftp
    • Premium Supporter

    findftp MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 20, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Precision Engineer
    Location:
    Nootdorp
    Ratings:
    +30 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I use an MCE RC6 remote (similar like this one) to control mediaportal because my TV remote (philips) is too basic and misses many functions I need.
    I use the green button to sleep my PC and to resume from standby.



    That bug is covered in the pulse eight forum's.
    It is probably a windows related driver issue. The BSOD's only occour with restarting the system or shutdown.
    When all software which uses the cec device are shut off before restarting the system, these BSOD's don't happen.For now I can live with it because my system rarely restarts because I use sleep (S3).
     
    Last edited: March 13, 2013
  4. Tuomaa

    Tuomaa Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 21, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    I had a maybe similar issue while ago, windows crashing with usb_bug_code (maybe 0xfe) when restarting. It wasn't however related to any software using the device, it happened always if the device was just connected to USB port. If I remember correctly it was caused by faulty Microsoft driver (usbser.sys).
     
  5. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Hi Tuomaa, this plug-in is excellent. I've had the pulse 8 device for some time and tried an mce tray tool with it but I found that it wasn't very stable. I decided to dust it off today, upgrade the firmware and look for a MP plug-in. Which I found thanks to you. So far it has been very good. On feature I'd like to request is the option to send active source command when ever the AVR/TV powers up. Reason is - I keep my MP PC running all the time and if I turn the TV off it needs to have the active source sent to it again for all the remote commands to work after it comes back on.

    Or maybe I can download the source code and try to add this feature my self if you don't have time.

    Thank you very much for your effort on this great plug-in :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Tuomaa

    Tuomaa Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 21, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    @mcraenz Thanks for the feedback.

    This actually sounds like a bug, could you provide logs covering TV OFF -> TV ON (with "extensive logging" checked).
     
  7. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    1. Delete MediaPortal log file.
    2. Load MediaPortal - Remote is working as it should
    3. Power off TV (Also causes AVR to power off via CEC)
    4. Power on TV (Also causes AVR to power on via CEC)
    5. Remote is working as it should....hmmm ok it seems to be working now.
    6. Exit MediaPortal.


    I've attached the log anyway for interest in case the issue comes back.
    But is this the right log? I can't seem to find much in there about CEC but I couldn't see a cecremote log file. And I do have extended logging turned on.

    Cheers,
    mcraenz
     
  8. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    No wait. My testing wasn't thorough enough. Here we go:

    1. Delete MediaPortal log file.
    2. Load MediaPortal - Remote is working as it should
    3. Power off TV (Also causes AVR to power off via CEC)
    4. Power on TV (Also causes AVR to power on via CEC)
    5. Remote is working as it should except some buttons like 'Guide' and 'Option' which normally brings up the Info (F9) menu but now brings up a menu native to the TV (Panason Viera VT30). Actually I think the only thing that works is basic navigation.
    6. Exit MediaPortal.
    7.Load MediaPortal remote is working as it should again.
    8.Exit MediaPortal and attach log.
     
  9. Tuomaa

    Tuomaa Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 21, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Log file is correct, I forgot to mention that MediaPortal log level should also be set to debug.

    Btw, Is the hdmi cable from CEC-adapter connected to AVR or TV?
     
  10. Malard

    Malard Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    With CEC, volume only gets sent to an "Audio Device" i.e. an Amplifier, it won't get sent to your MP box as its not an Audio Device[DOUBLEPOST=1365514992][/DOUBLEPOST]
    LG are incredibly bad with their CEC support, sadly nothing we can do to improve the number of keys that get sent through
     
  11. springfield

    springfield New Member

    Joined:
    March 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Home Country:
    Slovenia Slovenia
    Just installed this version, because my code wouldn't work on MP 1.3, and I must say good work Tuomaa!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads - CECRemote
  1. smolesen
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    846

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!