Change and remove items from Basichome | Page 6

Discussion in 'Black & White 1080p' started by aj1405, August 27, 2008.

  1. aj1405

    aj1405 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 30, 2007
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Drive free space added to SVN:
    black-white-1080 - Google Code



    Weather & RSS
    Check that the plugin is enabled in MediaPortal Configuration
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ltooz_audis

    ltooz_audis Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 12, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Yes, I checked, and both rssnews & MP-rss ticker are enabled.
    Something else is missing since I uninstalled mediaportal and reinstalled it to debug the internal video player problem.

    Thanks,
     
  4. ltooz_audis

    ltooz_audis Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 12, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Got it tonight... weather temperature is showing on the screen.

    Cheers,

    [​IMG]
     
  5. fullspam

    fullspam Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello everybody,

    I have just start in the htpc world, and after try other software like xmbc or elisa, I think mediaportal is more easy to build a customized version...
    ...at least, I thinked it last saturday :D

    I have spent two days reading in the forum to begin with a small modification.
    To begin and understand the BasicHome.xml file, I´m trying to do a start page with only one icon (for music), and later, adding more.

    Finally, Ihave find this post and I read:

    I have tried it (changing all item to 35 hyperlinkk and "-" for icon, label and hover... and of course, I have erased C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Cache\*), but it doesn´t work for me


    I have tried also to erase -not only to change <define>s- and do a file like this

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>
    <window>
    <id>35</id>
    <defaultcontrol>5</defaultcontrol>
    <allowoverlay>yes</allowoverlay>
    <disabletopbar>no</disabletopbar>
    <define>#category:2143</define>
    <define>#itemcount:</define>

    <define>#item5hyperlink:501</define>
    <define>#item5icon:basichome_music.png</define>
    <define>#item5label:2</define>
    <define>#item5hover:hover_my music.png</define>

    <controls>
    <import>common.window.other.xml</import>
    <import>common.rss.xml</import>
    <import>common.weather.xml</import>
    <import>common.panel0.xml</import>
    <control>
    <description>5 - Button</description>
    <type>button</type>
    <id>6</id>
    <posX>40</posX>
    <posY>580</posY>
    <width>300</width>
    <height>180</height>
    <textureFocus>basichome_focus.png</textureFocus>
    <textureNoFocus></textureNoFocus>
    <hyperlink>#item5hyperlink</hyperlink>
    <label></label>
    <onright>7</onright>
    <onup>2</onup>
    </control>
    <control>
    <description>5 - Icon</description>
    <type>image</type>
    <id>1</id>
    <posX>125</posX>
    <posY>590</posY>
    <width>130</width>
    <height>130</height>
    <texture>#item5icon</texture>
    </control>
    <control>
    <description>5 - Text</description>
    <type>label</type>
    <id>1</id>
    <posX>40</posX>
    <posY>720</posY>
    <width>300</width>
    <height>40</height>
    <label>#item5label</label>
    <align>center</align>
    </control>
    <control>
    <description>5 - Image</description>
    <type>image</type>
    <id>1</id>
    <posX>1300</posX>
    <posY>260</posY>
    <width>580</width>
    <height>580</height>
    <texture>#item5hover</texture>
    <animation effect="fade" time="1000">VisibleChange</animation>
    <visible>Control.HasFocus(6)</visible>
    </control>
    </controls>
    </window>


    but after erasing C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Cache, there is no changes in the skin :mad:

    I have to erase any other temporary file?
    am I wrong and I have to change other file?

    I have search around the forum and in the web page, but I don´t find any differeces about what I have done.


    Any help about this modification will be very helpfull for me!

    thanks in advance
     
  6. ltooz_audis

    ltooz_audis Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 12, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Fullspam,
    I know it may be ridiculous to ask this, but did you use notepad to edit? and when you re-save, did you save it as "all files" = .xml or .txt? Make sure you save it as .xml and not default .txt or .htm in ie or firefox.:confused:

    Cheers,
     
  7. fullspam

    fullspam Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    no more ridiculous that my previous question (I don´t understand why it doesn´t work for my) :D:D

    I have saved it as .xml (with notepad, and with vi under linux after a try to run the pyton script)

    anyway, thaks for the fast answer!


    There must be other temporary files in vista, because if I erase the BasicHome.xml, the cached files and run MP, it runs without any problem!! `:\
     
  8. ltooz_audis

    ltooz_audis Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 12, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Forget it... You defined them already.
     
  9. aj1405

    aj1405 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 30, 2007
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    I've just tried your code and it works on my installation.

    You don't have to delete any cache files for the basichome modification to work, only restart MediaPortal. The cache folder only contains the graphics files.

    I would triple check your save location. Should be "C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\skin\Black & White 1080\BasicHome.xml" and that your saving the file as XML.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Untitled-2.jpg
      Untitled-2.jpg
      File size:
      133.9 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 28, 2009
      Views:
      194
  10. fullspam

    fullspam Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I was wrong, :p

    the code I have done works, so it wasn´t the problem...:)
    [​IMG]

    ...but the problem is that when I start MP, I see this other screen -a list skin-. I have to go to seetings to select the same skin to see the icons screen.:(
    [​IMG]

    I have run Configuration.exe to select black&white as default skin -and remove the other skins-, to be sure that it´s the skin I wanted
    [​IMG]

    Probably it´s a stupid question, but I don´t find any option to choose betwen list and icon...
    ...and I think BasicHome.xml was this home screen, and in my code only music option must be listed, but as you can see in the second image, the start screen it´s a list with every options.

    I have to customice other xml file???



    thansk
     
  11. SilentException
    • Premium Supporter

    SilentException Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Ratings:
    +1,129 / 0
    Home Country:
    Croatia Croatia
    first: you need to have blue skins installed or strange things happen.. so do not remove them :)

    this "list view" is home screen (myhome.xml). the "icons view" is basic home (basichome.xml).

    to switch between them, you can press "h" on keyboard. or use third button in topbar. or go to configuration, in general settings there should be option "Start with basic home screen". if this is selected MP will start with basic home..

    hope this helps a bit :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!