Computer games with unofficial release | Page 2

Discussion in 'My Emulators' started by Atreides, July 30, 2010.

  1. MeMeMe

    MeMeMe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1
    Could you share the text of the aotuit file that does that? i'm trying to use it for something similar but don't understand the syntax.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. yudicuba
    • Premium Supporter

    yudicuba MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Re : Computer games with unofficial release

    @ MeMeMe

    can you launch the ink files ???
     
  4. Atreides

    Atreides Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 28, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hey didnt see you alls post till today so sorry for the late reply. I will share that autoIT file when I get home tonight, and yudicuba it is a lower case L not a lowercase I for the .lnk files. .lnk like "link"
     
  5. yudicuba
    • Premium Supporter

    yudicuba MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Re : Computer games with unofficial release

    :oops:
    sorry for my stupidity and make you waste your time :oops:
    but anyway this dont change nothink to my problem the lnk dont work from mepo
    thanks a lot for your help and patient
     
  6. DreadFury

    DreadFury Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    *.lnk SHOULD work. (that's LNK, not ink)
    if this doesn't work for you, you might have to create batch files for each game to run.

    just create the batch file, and in the file write: X:\path\filename.ext for your game and save.
    call the file instead of the shortcut.

    also, nircmd (google it) has a function that can wait for processes and it's simple to use.
    it might be easier than the AHK, but I guess that depends on how dynamic Atreides made it.

    good luck.
     
  7. Atreides

    Atreides Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 28, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Yeah, my way is not very pretty, but it works, if you can figure out a way with Dreadfury's comment then it might be a little cleaner. Here is my bat file called "nothing.txt" just rename it "nothing.bat" I also uploaded the nothing.exe as "nothing2.txt" just rename it "nothing.exe" and put them in the same folder, have the computer emulator launch the bat and it will stay open until you X it out. I use this to have "Keep MediaPortal on top" option enabled in the config. I just have suspend MP option clicked in the myemulator config. hope this helps you guys.
     

    Attached Files:

    • nothing.txt
      File size:
      50 bytes
      Uploaded:
      September 24, 2010
      Views:
      120
    • nothing2.txt
      File size:
      741.8 KB
      Uploaded:
      September 24, 2010
      Views:
      106
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DreadFury

    DreadFury Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Honestly, with the lack of support MyEmulators has had this past year, I had switched to an external frontend. (I've tried GameEx, MaximusArcade, and HyperSpin most recently)
    They do the job much better and can be migrated to other systems without MP, if need-be.
    Then I just have MultiShortcut call the frontend (I am currently using hyperspin) and all is well and still feels integrated.

    I was using GameEx, but the forced donations to unlock the most wanted features is a huge turn-off.
    I have no problem making donations to software that deserves it, but FORCING you to 'donate' is called 'buying' as far as I am concerned...

    HyperSpin is free, and while donating offers benefits, non-donators aren't hampered by locked out features or 30 second nag screens.

    After upgrading to windows 7 and 1.1, I decided to give MyEmulators a try again, but I quickly remembered why I switched the first time.
    So I am trying HyperSpin this time and am amazed so far.

    There are many more on the market, both free and retail, you might give those a try as well if MyEmulators just gets too frustrating.

    either way, good luck, I am sure you'll find a working solution soon enough if you don't give up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. MeMeMe

    MeMeMe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1
    Hyperspin looks decent.
    Does it take much effort to launch PC games from it?
    Does it have any internet scraping, like this version of myemulators, or do you need to manually create the thumbnails and backgrounds for each pc game?
     
  10. DreadFury

    DreadFury Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    you can either create your own videos and such for it or download them, pre-made.
    launching games from it is simple enough, both emulated and pc games.
     
  11. MeMeMe

    MeMeMe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1
    Hey, Atreides, I've used your method and it works excellently with one problem.
    I actually created three new consoles: Driving, First Person Shooters, and Other Games, to categorize them nicely and avoid that problem where you go from the main menu to pc games, and then have to pointlessly click again.

    The problem: when I close a game down, the dos prompt opened by your batch file stays open - I need to shut it down with the mouse to get mediaportal to load back up.

    Any idea why this is?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!