Custom Data Grabber with Sky EPG Grabber for 1.16 onwards | Page 7

Discussion in 'General Development (no feature request here!)' started by Brownard, May 6, 2017.

  1. Adam86

    Adam86 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    @Benoire, thanks for your input, I think by the sounds of it TVHeadend is worth looking into and the future of the Custom Data Grabber does seem to be quite bleak. I have a couple of spare machines that I can do some testing on.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Benoire
    • Premium Supporter

    Benoire MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 17, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Civil Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +135 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I would say so. Even if DJBlu was still here to work on it, I probably would have moved anyway to get down to smaller frontend units.. Android TV has plex, youtube, netflix etc. all from a single remote and interface.

    You could try doing a tvh install on a seperate machine with linux and then run kodi on the windows machine to test out both the interface without screwing up your main usage; Kodi has its quirks but its fully remap-able for remotes and it does well enough now... I just find the inability to change the EPG display timeframes awkward as it can make 30 minute shows harder to read.
     
  4. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    When you say grouping do you mean channel numbers would not be present so if I say set a favorite group with list of channels I watch the most as I do now these would be lost if channel frequencies change etc.
     
  5. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    We was looking at kodi a whole back to be fair as a replacement for mp which is a massive shame but there is just no development anymore of mp for anyone who uses a satellite dish. I love mp.

    We was still using MediaPortal TV server as the background though.
     
  6. AlunS

    AlunS Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 28, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    I agree. The core functionality is still being developed, but plugin development seems a bit hit and miss, with developers suddenly disappearing and abandoning them, or simply not being updated for new versions or skins. If you rely on such plugins for your specific situation then you're kind of stuck.
     
  7. Adam86

    Adam86 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Benoire, does TVHeadend also provide Series Link functionality for Freeview tuners or does Freeview lack the CIRD that you mention?

    Cheers
     
  8. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Yeah and it's pretty pointless is MediaPortal without the plugins and I for one would be happy to donate to MediaPortal plugin development if it meant we didn't have to find alternative solutions.
     
  9. Benoire
    • Premium Supporter

    Benoire MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 17, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Civil Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +135 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    as long as freeview trasmits CRID then it should be fine, TVH is produced by a few people from europe including UK, and I believe it works for Freesat/freeview UK. best way to check is to ask their forums.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. richardc1983

    richardc1983 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 10, 2012
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +25 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    It's a shame it doesn't run in windows like media portal especially if using the computer for other things.
     
  11. Benoire
    • Premium Supporter

    Benoire MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 17, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Civil Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +135 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    If you have USB tuners, or a Sat>IP tuner then you could probably run it in virtualbox etc. on windows itself. It requires very little resources itself, I was running it in a virtual machine with only 256mb of ram on ubuntu server 16.04.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!