Delay in audio output over HDMI

Discussion in 'Other HTPC Applications' started by Ronald Robertson, February 28, 2018.

  1. Ronald Robertson

    Ronald Robertson Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I know this is a frequent issue, but I've never seen a post with a resolution. Perhaps someone can help direct me.

    Every HTPC build / home receiver combination I've used over the last 15 years always has the same issue that audio output doesn't kick in for about 1 second after the signal is sent to the receiver. It appears that this issue is specific to when the audio is passed to the receiver over HDMI only. For watching movies, this isn't much of an issue since once the audio switches in, it stays on, but it is an annoyance since the clicks when moving between icons and other small duration audio samples that are about 1s or less in duration never get output to the speakers at all.

    I spoke with Onkyo (my current receiver is RZ-810) and they say this is a common issue with connections to PCs and that the only resolution would be a software fix and there is no receiver setting to tweak.

    Does anyone have any info on how to set either Mediaportal, PC sound settings, or LAV tweak so that this doesn't happen?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Freak*96

    Freak*96 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I Also got an Onkyo AVR and the only solution to fix this annoying silent stream bug is a third party software.
    I've got the best results with sound switch v2

    MEGA

    At this moment there is no other way to fix this.

    Gesendet von meinem SM-G950F mit Tapatalk
     
  4. Freak*96

    Freak*96 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Double Post, sorry
     
    Last edited: February 28, 2018
  5. Ronald Robertson

    Ronald Robertson Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thank you for your response, but I can't see how this addresses the problem. I tried installing sound switch per your link and it appears to just be a mixer over the top of the windows mixer which in no way effects the sound delay problem. Am I missing something?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Freak*96

    Freak*96 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ok let me try to explain the problem. Your sound delay is also known as the "silent stream bug".
    In easy words the Problem is that after every GUI Sound in MP (or other Programms) the Audio stream stop and the AVR lost the connection. To reconnect the AVR needs some time and this is too long for short sounds i.e. clicks.

    The above SoundSwitch v2 sends an silent sound stream to the AVR so that the connection stays active and you can hear all other sounds like they should.

    There are some other Apps like SPDIF keep alive, SPDIF k.a. and more that try to do the same, but for me only sondswitchv2 works well.
     
  7. Ronald Robertson

    Ronald Robertson Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thank you for your description. I'm thinking I must have set something up wrong. I'll play with it again tonight.

    Thanks
     
  8. Ronald Robertson

    Ronald Robertson Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 4, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I know this an old post, but in case you're still out there I wanted to follow up again. I spent an exhaustive amount of time with Soundswitch and it appears to do literally nothing. There appears to be very few settings or customization's and it has literally no effect on the silent stream bug. Any further advice is appreciated.
     
  9. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    701
    Ratings:
    +1,171 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I know I had the same issue when I first installed an AVR (Denon X1200W) a couple of years back. I also tried to resolve it using some 3rd party app but like you I never got it working and ended up living with it. However your post got me thinking and hey ho my navigation sounds have been working perfectly for some while. I have double checked and both on MP startup and resume from sleep all navigation sounds beep properly from first press, from reboot (with MP auto start) I have no sound at all on first press but there after everything beeps as it should.:)I really can't recall when that changed I don't think I did anything to fix it , for sure that 3rd part app is no longer installed as I did a clean Win 10 install about 6 months ago. Maybe it has been fixed with an update????:unsure:. I do fairly regularly install AMD A/V driver, Denon, Windows 10 and MP updates and currently use MP 1.20 Final with Default Wide HD skin.
    I don't know if that helps but if you would like to know my settings, let me know. I bit stream everything via Default Direct Sound Device, I do not use the MP Audio Renderer for anything.
     
  10. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    533
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +952 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have the same issue with my current Sony TV. :( My HTPC is connected via HDMI to the TV, and then I use the analogue audio output from the TV to feed an analogue Sony amplifier. My previous TV (a Toshiba) did not suffer from this problem.

    The solution? Turn off sound effects in "MP Config" and stop worrying about it. (y)

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  11. Jasmeet_181

    Jasmeet_181 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 5, 2007
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    126
    Ratings:
    +275 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    One of the comments on the SPDIF/HDMI Sound Keeper page suggests editing the registry to stop the output device entering standby or low power mode.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!