Erratic volume bars and development ideas | Page 2

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Rob Hexenmeister, July 13, 2019.

  1. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,240
    Likes Received:
    4,982
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,396 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    My volume setting:
    volume_setting.jpg


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +963 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Mine are identical! :confused:

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs



    Thank you for the attached. Very interesting.

    The IMON receiver is built into the case, so no I haven't tried a standard receiver.

    Yes, naturally I have a MediaPortal profile within IMON. I had this working since 2013 with my remote, which is a JUSTOP F20. You have raised an interesting point regarding RC6. It was sold as such but may not be. However, it was previously working with 1.17.

    Note that the volume does actually change. The receiver must therefore be picking up the signal. MP just refuses (most of the time) to display the volume OSD.

    The Holy Grail for me would be to get the FLIRC working with the OSD - it also was working on 1.17. The Sky Remote is much easier and nicer to use, especially as I have issues with the tendons in my left hand since I fell down some concrete steps and snapped my elbow (ouch). It also has a conveniently placed record button which the JUSTOP doesn't

    The FLIRC is configured as a USB keyboard. The receiver is plugged into a USB port. It too mimics keypresses, which I have defined to match my MP set up. It is a really nice set up - apart from the blasted volume bar not appearing.

    I have even considered disassembling the case (it is getting rather old now) and getting an internal FLIRC to replace the IMON. What is stopping me doing that is that I don't know of alternative drivers for the VFD MiniDisplay that are compatible and user friendly enough for me to set up.

    I shall try those properties again, as you suggest on the TVosd on full screen TV - that will have to wait until the weekend when I have time.

    I'm on Windows 7 and I've made sure my volume settings are the same as you kind chaps, and nothing has changed.

    I will let you know how I get on with the #volume properties when I've had a chance to try them. Thank you for your help and information. You chaps really do go the extra mile to help us out, when I am sure we don't deserve it !
     
  5. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs


    Curiouser and curiouser !!

    I put the same variables into my TvOSD.xml, and they weren't recognised. I wonder if this is related to the missing VolumeHandler.cs file as noted in post #7 ?

    Screenshot attached.

    I wonder if I have a missing core file?

    RH
     

    Attached Files:

  6. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +963 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Strange. :confused:

    The file "VolumeHandler.cs" is the MP source file that implements the volume control, but it is not a skin file. You will have this file on your system only if you have downloaded the MP source from SourceForge, and it will reside in an MP source tree (depending where you unzip it); it won't reside in the skin folder. If you are not a programmer, there is no particular reason to download the source (other than to look at it). I scanned the source using Windows "findstr.exe" to build a list of all of the built-in skin variables (since many are not documented in the Wiki).

    There is a skin file for the volume control, although I am not sure whether it is mandatory or optional. However, if you have one I think that it must be called "VolumeOverlay.xml". Perhaps this file is missing?

    Looking at DWHD, I see that it includes the relevant volume tags directly in "Common.Play.xml", whereas in my "ClassicWide" skin I use the <import> tag to include the volume xml file in "MyTvFullScreen.xml" and "VideoFullScreen.xml". Both ways seem to work satisfactorily.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thank you. This gives me my next step to try. I believe that VolumeOverlay.xml is present. I shall try circumventing Common.Play.xml and import directly in the full screen xmls and see what happens. If that fails I may even try cutting and pasting Volume.Overlay code directly into the fullscreen xmls. I shall report back.

    RH
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +282 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have and the do.- snip from my Volume.overlay.xml


    <control>
    <id>0</id>
    <type>image</type>
    <posX>1775</posX>
    <posY>40</posY>
    <width>100</width>
    <height>100</height>
    <texture>v/volume_base.png</texture>
    <visible>!#volume.mute</visible>
    </control>

    <control>
    <id>501</id>
    <type>image</type>
    <posX>1770</posX>
    <posY>35</posY>
    <width>110</width>
    <height>110</height>
    <texture>#(string.format('v/w{0}.png', #volume.percent ))</texture>
    </control>

    Cheers - JCMP
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs

    That's very interesting JimCatMP, I will have a go with those on the volume overlay. I am unable to get to my HTPC at the moment but will try on my return, although if the volume overlay isn't appearing in the first place it isn't going to solve my problem.

    I've tried putting them on the full screen XMLs to no success as you can see earlier in the thread. Interestingly I am now getting the volume icon (non-mute) or the mute icon appear when I change channels, and they are not true to the current mute/volume status - i.e. sometimes the mute icon appears when I change channel even if there is sound. It's very odd behaviour indeed.

    RH
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!