existing tv recordings not shown after reinstalling MP | Page 2

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by Bdydrp, April 4, 2017.

  1. ARH

    ARH Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 27, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have had this problem in the past as well. I have just checked me recording folder and there are no "xml" files in there. Can you tell us how to change this setting?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Bdydrp

    Bdydrp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 2, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    @mm1352000
    Ive used mepo prior but did nof have a tv server. When i got my tuners i formatted the drive and started from scratch.
    Even at this point in starting i never had xml files
    Recently i formatted and restarted the process af which point i usedbthe tvserver import/export feature so i didnt have to retune channels. And again no xml files..
    If i didnt have them previously, not sure how importing old settings will affect it...
    Anyway, im happy to setup TeamViewer so you could have a look at the server/install.....that would be greatly appreciated

    Ill pm you details of my teamviewer login.
    Cheers

    **edit - Tried to PM you but wont allow me to**
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2017
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Before I explain how to change the setting I'd like to have the opportunity to:
    1. Confirm that XML files are not created.
    2. Confirm that the setting is the reason that XML files are not created.
    3. Investigate how the setting value came to be unset (which normally should never happen).
    So, are you also willing to allow me to have a quick TeamViewer session?

    Obviously if you import settings which specify that XML files should not be created, you'd taint your new/clean installation, and so the cycle will continue.

    Yes, I've blocked PMs because I used to receive lots of unsolicited requests for help.
    I'm not feeling up for a TeamViewer session tonight, sorry. Just exhausted. <sigh> My bed is calling me.
    I'll PM you tomorrow. You'll be able to respond to my PM in private.
     
  5. Bdydrp

    Bdydrp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 2, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Yes, I've blocked PMs because I used to receive lots of unsolicited requests for help.
    I'm not feeling up for a TeamViewer session tonight, sorry. Just exhausted. <sigh> My bed is calling me.
    I'll PM you tomorrow. You'll be able to respond to my PM in private.[/QUOTE]

    That will explain it.
    All good, PM when your are free and available and ill reply with my teamviewer details
    Cheers
     
  6. Bdydrp

    Bdydrp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 2, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    @mm1352000
    quick update - Ive looked into the TVServer export xml file and found the following line:
    <setting tag="createtaginfoxml" value="no" />

    Changed the value to yes, and imported settings only

    I now have xml files being created with recordings....well only tested it with one recording so far.

    Not sure if this was/is correct way of fixing but seems to have done the trick. Still cant explain why it was off to start with
    Any install has been a fresh install, and importing settings, would have been from previous fresh install - Dont know how i could have turned it off

    If you still wish to remote in to check, your more than welcome!

    Cheers
    Adam
     
  7. Bdydrp

    Bdydrp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 2, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    sorry to revive an older thread, but i have run into the same issue again.
    Only this time, i have needed to change to my recording folder.

    All recording have xml files. I can see the recording inside mediaportal, but when i click play, i get an error saying unable to play .ts file
    I also dont seem to be able to import the recording in config

    Any clues as to where to start?

    Cheers
     
    • Missing System Logs and/or Specs Missing System Logs and/or Specs x 1
  8. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You might have this problem (info copied from the 'Database import' section of - Recording - MediaPortal 1 - MediaPortal Wiki )

     
  9. Bdydrp

    Bdydrp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 2, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    What i worked out was that from within mediaportal, i had to clear invalid recordings from the recordings menu.
    Once this was done, i could yhen go back to the tv server config and import shows.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!