Gapless Playback | Page 6

Discussion in 'Listen Music' started by TranceManNZ, January 12, 2013.

  1. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Give what a try? We already know that MediaPortal's Music player doesn't do gapless playback properly.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    As i said before, gapless playbeck is working with my setup fine!
     
  4. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    In that case can you provide a sample? Also a video showing it working would be nice because I find it hard to believe.

    The samples I provided earlier are clearly correct for gapless playback because they work in Foobar. If you open them in an audio editor you'll also see they match perfectly.
     
    Last edited: July 15, 2013
  5. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Now i'm completely confused and i get headache from testing. Some files are working fine, but the attached 1Khz testtones should also work, but they don't :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Video.rar
      File size:
      35.3 MB
      Uploaded:
      July 15, 2013
      Views:
      84
  6. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I wonder if the gap is disguised in that particular track transition. Can't be sure.

    For the two sample tracks I uploaded earlier, using the version of MediaPortal from page 4 (1.4.0-28), there's a clear jump when the strings kick in that shouldn't be there (as evidenced during playback in Foobar). Here's examples of what I mean:

    MediaPortal - jump at 10 s, not proper gapless playback
    What it should sound like - seamless transition between the tracks

    The fixed behaviour of fade in/out improves things a lot compared to 1.4.0 Final (particularly with videos funnily enough) but if it's not gapless, it's not gapless. :)
     
    Last edited: July 16, 2013
  7. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Please test the same files with Foobar (http://www.foobar2000.org/) - we know that the current gapless implemention in MP is not gapless.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  8. TranceManNZ

    TranceManNZ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 30, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    This link has a test file (MP3 + CUE). The Bass player should display all the track names and playback should be gapless. Tested in Foobar and everything works correctly.

    http://douganator.co.nz/files/GaplessSample.rar

    Hope this can be helpful.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    That's a painfully slow download.

    Anyway, I tried playing a few tracks and they did not play gaplessly in MediaPortal 1.4.0-28 from this thread. So it doesn't matter if one uses a CUE sheet or separate files.
     
    Last edited: July 17, 2013
  10. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hmmm was playing music last night and noticed my 5.1 files were outputting as stereo using BASS player. No idea why, all I know is it was working the last time I tried it, which was with 1.4.0-16 (I'm using 1.4.0-28 from this thread now). Has anything happened during the gapless playback changes that could've caused this?

    Does anyone else have surround music working properly? I have Windows set to 4.0 and my AVR says it's receiving 4.0 but the rear channels are blank for 5.1 music files so it seems like BASS is downmixing to 2.0 rather than 4.0. Films with 5.1/7.1 are downmixed to 4.0 properly by LAV Filters. :(

    Might just use Foobar instead and be done with it. :unsure:
     
    Last edited: July 27, 2013
  11. mp.user
    • Premium Supporter

    mp.user MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 21, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I'd love to see native support for gapless playback in MP!

    I just upgraded from MP 1.2.1 to MP 1.4.0; I used PureAudio for gapless playback, but the latest stable version seems to be incompatible (MP Configuration crashed when entering the plugins area). A recompiled version works better, but does not work with DirectSound. So there's no option for gapless playback at all... :(
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!