How To: MCE Remote Keyboard in XP Home

Discussion in 'Remotes' started by Brocklander, January 7, 2006.

  1. Brocklander
    • Premium Supporter

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Issue - On Windows XP Home systems, the rollup to enable the QWERTY keyboard and mouse on the Microsoft Media Center Keyboard doesn't install the drivers correctly. You'll need to force it to use the correct drivers.

    For Windows XP Professional, just download and install the rollup



    For Windows XP Home Non English, read pnyberg's more detailed post (or in Español), or hellemund's Danish instructions

    For Windows XP Home English, read on!

    1. Download and install the rollup

    2. Once that's done, go to the Device Manager and uninstall the unrecognised eHome device

    3. Unplug the infrared reciever from the USB port, wait a few moments and plug it back in

    4. Windows will ask for drivers, download this file and extract somewhere nearby

    5. For every device Windows that asks for drivers, tell it to search the folder you extracted the downloaded files to

    6. All drivers will install (there will be a lot of them), and your keyboard should work correctly

    This will also give you all the necessary drivers for your MCE Remote, so when setting up a clean system these will be the only steps you need to go through to get both your remote and keyboard working.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. WayDB123

    WayDB123 New Member

    Joined:
    January 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks to your instructions in a previous post I was able to get my MCE keyboard working in XP Home. Thanks
     
  4. tkortell

    tkortell Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 13, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vaasa / Sulva
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Thanks allot for the help.
    All I had to do was plug the recever in and install the drivers from the MCERemoteDrivers.zip file.

    Works greate

    Regards // Tomas
     
  5. Aquarius
    • Premium Supporter

    Aquarius MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 23, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    all keys working ?

    Hi all,
    can you use the MCE keyboard like a traditional one ?

    I don't get the 'normal' keys to work. Just the enhanced media buttons.

    I have XP-PRO here, does it make a difference ? I also tried to update the drivers from the link with the 'Update driver' - function, but WIN said, they don't fit and there's no need to update them. But the rev. nr from the link above are definitely newer.

    And how do I de-install a driver ? In 'device manager', I can remove the devices, fine, but after reconnect them everything is right there ? No question for new drivers ?

    Thanks for any hint.

    Regards
    /Gerd
     
  6. Brocklander
    • Premium Supporter

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  7. raybo

    raybo New Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This is my first post, Im trying to get my MCE remote keyboard working in XP Home. I d/l the zip files, installed them, and I get the "sleep" button and the "directional scroll" buttons only, keyboard doesn't work. The drivers installed are: Under HID: eHome IF Transceiver Driver 5.1.2600.2180
    Keyboards: eHome R.C. Keyboard Keys Driver 5.1.2600.2180
    USB: eHome IR Receiver Driver 5.1.2600.2709

    All the devices are working, according to XP, what am I doing wrong?

    Thanks for any help
     
  8. Aquarius
    • Premium Supporter

    Aquarius MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 23, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks ! Work's great !

    Hi ,
    just like to say thanks . The rollup tip did it! Works perfect.

    Although you must get used to this keyboard. Esp. this 'mouse' button is nearly uncontrollable.

    /Gerd
     
  9. KobusL

    KobusL Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    I have exactly the same problem as raybo.
    I bought my reciever, remote control & keyboard, pluged it in and directed it to the above downloaded files when XP Home asked for it. It did this for about 3 or 4 times and installed everything it wanted. Now my MCE remote control is working fine, but not all the buttons on the keyboard, only those for which there is a match on the remote control.

    Is it perhaps because I directly installed it from the downloaded files and never did the "rollup" on the Microsoft Update?

    Is there anybody that can help? Thanks.
     
  10. Smirnuff

    Smirnuff Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 7, 2004
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Although not particularly relevant for quite some time to come... under Vista the pointing device is 100 times nicer to use than under XP, would be very nice if they did to the XP drivers whatever they have done to the Vista builds but thats not likely to happen :/.
     
  11. Brocklander
    • Premium Supporter

    Brocklander Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    You could try downloading and installing the Microsoft rollup, then uninstalling the driver for the receiver, unplug it, plug it back in and direct it to use the downloaded drivers? Maybe there's something else it needs that it had installed while I was trying to figure it out the first time?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!