Install TV Server without media sources S: drive

Discussion in 'General' started by slikvik, October 22, 2016.

  1. slikvik

    slikvik Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hi

    I've installed TV server from MP2* to use with Kodi but it seems to have created an S: drive which I'm not going to use.

    Can this be removed or chosen not to install?



    *Using MP2 Server because it uses SQLite instead of a MySQL install.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No. The S. drive - or any other letter you chose to assign rather than "S" - is required for MP2 to function correctly.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. slikvik

    slikvik Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hi. Thanks. Does it use it even if you're just running the TV Server?
     
  5. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    357
    Ratings:
    +583 / 1
    If you're just using the TV Server without the MP2 client, then it should be working without dokan. If you really want to remove the virtual drive, then you have to uninstall the Dokan library 0.5.3 (control panel -> programs and features). After that the virtual drive should not appear anymore. To completely get rid of it, you have to delete the "dokan.sys" file in windows\system32\drivers\.

    If something goes wrong, you can't manually install just the dokan library, you would have to run the MP2 setup again.
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    How do you want to use the TVServer without the client? It has no own frontend and is utterly useless then.

    You can as well run the MP1 setup and intall just the TVServer. Again pretty much useless withot a client attached to it.
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    As per the first post:
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ah, right, One week later I had forgotten about the introductions...
     
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Another possibility would be to fade down the respective drive in Windows. Itr would then still be usable but not visible in Windows and could be easily restored if required.

    Note: I haven't tried this myself:

    • Open the registry editor and navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer
    • Create a new 32bit DWORD entry NoDrives
    • Assign a decimal value of 2**n, where "n" is the associated number in the alphabet. "S" is the 19th letter, hence you need to enter 2**19 = 524288.
    • Log off and log on
    The drive should now still be accessible - you can test this for example in a CMD environment - but no longer visible.
     
  10. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,832
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,613 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Nice idea. We should try if this "hidden" drive still is working with MP2 and, if yes, let the installer hide the dokan drive during installation.
     
  11. slikvik

    slikvik Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Thanks all. I've uninstalled Dokan and everything seems great. Thanks.

    Yes, I'm using Kodi as a frontend (sorry MP - I did use you for many many years), and wanted a simple TV backend. Initially I avoided MP because I didn't want a full MySQL install on my PC just to provide TV to my clients but when I read that MP2 had gone to SQLite I thought I'd give it another bash seeing as NextPVR is unfortunately very unreliable despite it's simplicity.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!