[Pending] - Live commercial skip detection | Page 8

Discussion in 'Submit: code patches (MediaPortal/TV-Server/etc.)' started by sccrgoalie1, September 16, 2013.

  1. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Because it isn't looking at the timeshift file. There are generally multiple timeshift files, with sizes that can be configured by the user. These are created and deleted as needed. It is almost certain that advert breaks will span timeshift files.



    I'm not an expert, but I think it is fair to say that is would be almost impossible to get comskip working with paused live TV.

    But of course as a workaround, record the program and watch it from the recording, even if you are watching it live.

    This will make it into area 51 pretty soon.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    I have big issue with this branch :
    I have big delay about channel switching and sometimes channel 1 act like it was tuned but nothing on screen, tuning channel 2 and here i get the channel 1 displayed and so on.
    Or when changing channel, channel 1 works -> change to channel 2 and i get timishift of channel 1 for 10 or 20 secs.

    I need to supply log, i have revert it on my local build to be sure that this branch is the culprit and it's confirmed :)
     
  4. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Yeah, logs will be very helpful. I have no idea why any changes I made would affect live tv or channel switching. I've been using this branch for two months now and haven't noticed any side affects, but I only watch live TV on rare occasions. Does this happen consistently or is it random?
     
  5. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Does it happen when comskip is running? Could it be as simple as the higher CPU usage from comskip slowing everything else down on the server?
     
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    It happen always for me and i don't have comskip enable. But for sure it impact somehow livetv (and it's on MP side only it seems).
    I have run 2 tests this weekend.

    TVServer on server / Client on HTPC -> broken. (RTSP in use)
    TVServer on DEVPC / Client on DEVPC -> broken. (I suppose here UNC but i think i have also try TVServer on DEVPC / Client on HTPC -> broken)

    It seems to be a client side issue (i need to retest but i just revert the branch and install only the MP installer separate installer and issue was gone and i didn't reinstall server side). If i'm not wrong lol.

    I need to retry the whole thingy, right now i let run MP to try to trigger fontengine issue but i will retry your branch :)
     
  7. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I think it could be a good idea to get this in Area51 after 1.6 (Pre Release?) is released for wider testing.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Quarter
    • Super User

    Quarter Super User

    Joined:
    June 21, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    110
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Queenstown
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    What's happened with this? I keep looking for it in area51, no comments here?
     
  9. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    @sccrgoalie1 - could we get an area 51 thread started with the binaries needed for this against 1.6 ? Thanks!
     
  10. sccrgoalie1

    sccrgoalie1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 12, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thread created.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 3
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!