[MANTIS 4321] - SMS style disabled on keyboard in password-mode

Discussion in '1.3.x' started by doskabouter, April 3, 2013.

  1. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,042 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.3.0



    Description
    Just noticed that when typing a password with the virtual keyboard, the SMS style is disabled.
    So you have to navigate to each letter on the VK to select that one, and that kind of defeats the need for displaying the typed letters with a '*'
    Previously, in SMS style, you could press the number buttons enough times to get each letter, and it's much harder to see which, and how many times each number is pressed

    Steps to Reproduce:
    Navigate to something where a password is required (f.e. browsetheweb select the login button on the forumpage). It defaults to character mode, and no way to set it to SMS
     
    Last edited by a moderator: April 3, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Confirmed, TNX for the report kabouter ;)
    Only need to figure out if this needs a new Mantis or we can combine this with the other issues we have with the keyboard. I assume fixing this would have priority, since SMS Style is completely broken.

    ** EDIT **
    Somehow SMS Style is working when you do a search by title in the EPG. So now i'm wondering if it's the plugin or not. At least i can confirm that SMS style isn't accessible with BrowseTheWeb.
     
    Last edited: April 3, 2013
  4. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,042 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Sms style is also working from browsetheweb in non-password dialogs, and the only difference in calling VirtualKeyboard is setting the Password property to true or false
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  6. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,042 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hm, it seems to be a conscious decision:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2.           if (Password) return; //sms is disabled during password input - we cannot see chars!
    3.  
    Committed by silentexception at 6/17/2011 with comments:
    * 0003598: Improve identification of virtual keyboard input mode (SMS / standard)
    0003502: pin code can not be entered by remote because SMS sytle keyboard is used by default
    So perhaps reviewing those 2 mantisses and the new one, theoretically it should lead to a consensus
     
  7. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,042 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  8. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  9. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Made a couple of comments on github. Main thing is the inclusion of lots of formatting changes. Any chance you could remove the formatting changes so we can see the actual changes (if you want / need formatting changes then have this as a separate commit)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,042 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Ok, will do.
    What is the best way of doing this? I myself am thinking of a new branch, or should(can?) I delete the current branch and create a new one with the same name?
     
  11. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    As it is a pull request it does not matter to us :) You can do either as it is in your repository :p
    I will close the current pull request and you can either delete and re-create branch or create a new pull request or create a new pull request on a new branch name.

    I would probably suggest the simplest way is to create a new branch based on current MP master and then make the change, push to your repository and create a pull request.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!