MCE remote(s) suddenly stopped working | Page 2

Discussion in 'Remotes' started by MrCrabs, June 15, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No it won't. Try to understand where the problem lies. Is the remote? Is the receiver? Is it the PC hardware? Is it Windows?

    Can you try your receiver on another PC?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    152
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +281 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs

    Missed 'two RX units' - now that is bizarre and a total buggeration:oops:

    Occam would therefore suggest problem with system then - possibly the drivers are mincing the output before it gets as far as being recognised as valid keyboard input [W10 updates have a reputation:eek:.

    Do you have keyboard plugged in at same time [assume yes otherwise with no IR you can't control system at all] so can you test with the keyboard unplugged [ideally from boot], also as per MM's suggestion check RX unit on another device - laptop would do, using the QiPress tool to confirm it?

    Cheers - JCMP
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    ...which is exactly why I've asked for log files.

    I want to see:
    1. Whether Windows updates were installed recently, and if yes, which ones.
    2. Which files Windows is loading as the driver for the receiver. I've seen cases where security software entangled itself with remote control receiver and/or tuner drivers and caused them to stop working properly.
    So @MrCrabs please provide log files!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!