MCE remote(s) suddenly stopped working

Discussion in 'Remotes' started by MrCrabs, June 15, 2017.

Tags:
  1. MrCrabs

    MrCrabs Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 21, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ingenieur Maschinenbau / mechanical engineer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +129 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hey,

    I've got a pretty weird issue with my MCE remote that worked well for years. But somehow it suddenly stopped working - not just with MePo but completely. I cannot even navigate in Windows explorer what always used to worked before. It seems like Windows (10) just does not react to the remote anymore and thus can't tell Mediaportal what to do.
    I can definitly tell that the remote sends commands since it has a flashing light and I have a second MCE remote (one original from Microsoft and one generic) that also does not work anymore. I can also tell, that the receiver does receive something, since it also has a flashing light that flashes, whenever I press a remote button. And I have a second one of that receiver type which also does not work.
    I already tried deinstalling the receiver (Microsoft ehome infrared reviever in device Manager) and I tried using different USB ports.
    Did I miss something? Can anybody help me what might cause that behaviour?



    Thank you!
    MrCrabs
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Look in this forum for ”HID Known Issues", see if you find something that helps.
     
  4. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    152
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +281 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You could try this <QiPress v1.071 for Windows XP/Vista/7/8/8.1/10 | aalapshah.in> to test if the signal is getting to Windows as a key stroke - basically, will show what 'keys' pressed as overlay on MePo - used it before to debug a problem I had - lite [free] version does enough for debugging, works on Win10 and is just an executable not an install.

    Cheers - JCMP
     
  5. MrCrabs

    MrCrabs Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 21, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ingenieur Maschinenbau / mechanical engineer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +129 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hey, thanks for your tips. Unfortunately it doesn't help. It seems like there are no key strokes detected. At least the arrow buttons and enter key should work. That was the common behaviour before.
    Maybe I should try to get it working on a non HTPC to see if it is some issue with the receiver.
     
  6. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    152
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +281 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi

    Suspect your IR receiver is simply broken;-< and it's not sending data over USB.

    Given: unit is getting power ;
    the front end IR side works [see commands and flashes local LED];
    the USB interface is also working [your PC see's it as appropriate type].
    This suggest to me that the IR to USB comms have failed - simple component fail being most likely.

    No direct help but I suspect it's beyond help anyway - sorry.

    TTFN - JCMP
     
  7. MrCrabs

    MrCrabs Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 21, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ingenieur Maschinenbau / mechanical engineer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +129 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    You might be right ... USB and receiver is working - as I said there is a light flashing whenever I press a remote button.
    But what is still curious is the fact, that I have two identical receivers and both don't work. One might be broken, but two?

    Thanks for your help anyway ... I will tell if I find some way to get it working.
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Tried changing the batteries in the remote control? ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. MrCrabs

    MrCrabs Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 21, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ingenieur Maschinenbau / mechanical engineer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +129 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    :) Yep, was my first idea, too.
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    ...then it's time for log files.
    Please use the Watchdog tool option 1 ("report a bug...") to start MP in debug mode. Try to press various remote control buttons. Close MP, then attach the zip file produced by the Watchdog.
     
  11. MrCrabs

    MrCrabs Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 21, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ingenieur Maschinenbau / mechanical engineer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +129 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Well I tried this tool HID Demo which shows that there are no reactions to any button presses. Do you expect that MePo will recognize anything else?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!