MediaPortal Audio renderer - better video playback quality | Page 113

Discussion in 'General Development (no feature request here!)' started by tourettes, July 12, 2010.

  1. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    @ Red5 and seeco,

    Thank you both for the clarification. I rarely have time to tinker with or look at the system now. From the top of my head, I thought the judders were visible in the red lines (shift 1) as well, but Im not 100% sure. Can I conclude IF the judders are present in the source, I woulndt see a jump in the red line? If so, I will look for this with more attention.
    If I see the judder and the redline is stable, I guess the source is the problem. (am I right?)


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ced007

    ced007 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 7, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    webmaster
    Location:
    Haute-Savoie
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hello,
    I use SAF 5 unlock, with MePo Audio Renderer and ffdshow as Audio Codec (no passthrough of course).
    I have 2 questions about the synergy between MePo audio renderer and:
    1. The "Dynamic refresh rate" of the MePo configuration, I use it to automatically adjust my screen refresh to the video. Is it ok to use it with MePo renderer?
    2. The video codec to use. Currently I use ffdshow video for SD video and PDVD10 for HD video and TV SD+HD. Can we use the video codec we want with MePo renderer? Or is there one that is preferred?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. red5goahead
    • Premium Supporter

    red5goahead MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 24, 2007
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software engineering
    Location:
    Italy, North West
    Ratings:
    +144 / 1
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    The best way to be sure it's open the source with player such as MPC-HC and check the footage frame by frame .
    Anyway most Abc releases have that issue. Another good solution to test with better reliability it's using a web-DL mkv release.
     
  5. Seeco

    Seeco Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 15, 2007
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Linköping
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    @ red5: Thanks for the confirmation! I have already made a habit of avoiding those encodes, favouring web-dl releases instead. My girlfriend seems to be immune to stuttering, she never sees it while I become furious over every little hick-up :D
     
  6. davidf
    • Team MediaPortal

    davidf Development Group

    Joined:
    April 3, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    310
    Occupation:
    Application Architect
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +336 / 0
    Home Country:
    Scotland Scotland
    Show System Specs
    Using the dynamic refresh rate functionality in conjuction with the audio renderer will give you the best possible quality of output, providing your TV supports the required refrsh rates.
    There is no restriction on Video Codec, although it may be better not to use the renderer for TV if your TV refresh rate is faster than the rate from your TV provider i.e. if your TV refresh rate is just over 50Hz and the TV is PAL then the renderer will try to show the TV programme faster than it is available.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ced007

    ced007 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 7, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    webmaster
    Location:
    Haute-Savoie
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Thanks davidf,
    It's clear to me now :)
    I will do some tests with the TV with and without MePo Audio Renderer.
     
  8. hans.kazan

    hans.kazan New Member

    Joined:
    April 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    The display can handle 24 Hz but the movie is 23,97 fps. If I set the screen to 25 Hz it is indeed more obvious that the renderer does not speed up the movie.
    Do you mean that although the renderer is in the graph it still might not work because of the audio settings?
     
  9. wouter1971
    • Premium Supporter

    wouter1971 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    106
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Purmerend, Holland
    Ratings:
    +143 / 6
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hans, with 24Hz it will not speed up. With 25/50hz it should speed up. If it does not speed up make sure you did not selected pass through in audio settings of ffdshow and make sure you installed and registered the binaries correctly.
     
  10. davidf
    • Team MediaPortal

    davidf Development Group

    Joined:
    April 3, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    310
    Occupation:
    Application Architect
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +336 / 0
    Home Country:
    Scotland Scotland
    Show System Specs
    hans.kazan,

    It should speed up 23.97 material on both 24Hz and 25Hz displays, could you provide logs when this (doesn't) happen?

    cheers
     
  11. wouter1971
    • Premium Supporter

    wouter1971 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    106
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Purmerend, Holland
    Ratings:
    +143 / 6
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Ok, sorry Davidf, i thought 24hz was not speed up.

    Myself i have an issue with the encoding for multichannel audio through SPDIF and HDMI (tried both).
    I see mpaudiorenderer is used and working great by the way for video, but i cannot get DD and DTS to work. Only 2 channel audio is seen on the receiver.
    Tried multiple versions of SAF 5.00. ac3encode is set to 1 in registry. It still does not work.

    Complete logs from DTS and DD source attached.

    =====================
    Fixed it myself :(
    Had to disable the mixer in de ffdshow audio settings. Decoding to stereo was the setting :(
    For the people with stuttering DTS audio, under ffdshow codecs DTS set it to libdts.

    Everything is working fine now. Thanks Tourettes!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!