MP freezes every 15 sek | Page 2

Discussion in 'General Support' started by karlake, June 10, 2009.

  1. Dunnys

    Dunnys Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi,

    I have the same issue. Installed in client mode NO tvserver installed but TV client is installed.
    The freezing happens all places in the GUI and also if I'm only running the configuration. I have tried on 3 different installations. Vista x86, Vistax64 and Windows7 x86 all are fresh installations with all windows update to date and all have same issue.



    I will post log files latere tonight.

    Cheers...
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. karlake

    karlake Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 1, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Borås
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    OK!

    It said TVServer in install/remove, but maybe just the client in that packet

    So there is a problem with the TVServer-client. Does not help to disable plugin, still same problem
     
  4. Dunnys

    Dunnys Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Here is my log files.

    Hope it helps.

    :D

    /Dunnys
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yep its a heartbeat problem, if you installed MP with settings ie no tv of any kind, not doing a Client install this should not happen, really not sure how to get around without uninstalling.

    Take it there is no TVServer\TVClient showing under the programs uninstall.
     
  6. karlake

    karlake Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 1, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Borås
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    life is not so easy!

    I'm planning to use TV on the machine, but my tvserver is not ready for use
    So it's would be good if it was enough to disable the client plugin if not in use, for the moment.

    But now we know
    :D

    Could be a good thing to warn about this in the installation
     
  7. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The problem comes in, if you select client, it disables a lot of internal plugins' but then enables others that work with TVServer, so if no TVServer configured, it will totally screw things up.

    Better to do a normal MP install, just selecting "no" to TV, and then in the future, run installer again and select tv, this will then do the necessary update to files, leaving your original MP install intact, just giving the extra functionality of TVServer, which is your immediate problem.
     
  8. Dunnys

    Dunnys Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi,

    Thx. for the fast response, removing the tv client fixed the issue. Can I ask why the heartbeat is not running in a thread? that could eliminate the freezing issue in the GUI.

    Cheers

    /Dunnys
     
  9. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Obviously you have a good knowledge of "what should be", maybe you could have a look and come up with a FIX for this :)

    We are always looking for improvements ;)
     
  10. Dunnys

    Dunnys Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi,

    Would love to help but I'm not familiar with Visual Studio :confused:, have coded in Delphi for many years so yes I know what “could” be done. :oops:

    /Dunnys
     
  11. karimkb

    karimkb Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    oh man, this was bothering me for a while and was wondering why it was freezing every 10 seconds...i also installed it as a client, but said YES to using it for TV (which installed the TV server client also) b/c i planned on installing TV server on another machine at a later time.

    Going to Control Panel and Uninstalled the TV Server Client solved this issue for me as well.

    So you say that redoing the install will not affect any settings you have configured and will install the required files for TV Client? I just tried and it only gave me an option to do a fresh install...

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!