MSLoopback Device for Singleseat users

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by Paranoid Delusion, December 26, 2008.

  1. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    This is aimed at Singleseat users only, particularly those that may have a Wireless connection and randomly find TVServer has stopped responding, or MediaPortal cannot receive TV.

    First you need the MSLoopback Device installed, for Vista\Window7 users, Start, select Computer, right click and select manage from menu, open device manager, at the top chose action, "add legacy hardware", XP users control panel add hardware, follow the pictures, selecting network adapters, chose microsoft and then MS loopback adapte.

    sshot-8.jpg sshot-9.jpg sshot-10.jpg sshot-11.jpg sshot-12.jpg

    So the adapter is now installed, you need to put in a ip address, so in Device manager\network chose MS loopback adapter, right click and select properties and the advanced tab, here you can enter the ip address of choice, but I recommend the value shown 192.168.2.1, as this should not interfer with any existing network.

    sshot-7.jpg

    Close properties and reboot windows.

    To finish setting up go to Control Panel, open the Network Sharing Centre (Win7\Vista) select change adapter srttings, for XP Users its Control Panel Network Connections, now chose the MS loopback adapter and right click, select properties, you will see "Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP\ipv4) select and go to properties, here use the chosen ip address, example 192.168.2.1, the subnet mask will automatically be filled in, close and you are done installing\configuring the adapter.

    sshot-17.jpg sshot-18.jpg sshot-19.jpg sshot-20.jpg



    Setting up TVServer and MediaPortal.

    Open TVServer config as per pictures,

    sshot-5.jpg sshot-3.jpg

    If you right click on master address it should now give you the choice of 192.168.2.1, select and close config, you can do one of 2 things either reboot (recommended) or stop\restart TVService, this may also require stopping and restarting MySQL server which may cause issue if not done in correct order.

    OK, so TVServer is now using the loopback adapter, so there should be no interference from wireless network.

    Regarding MP settings for streaming, my hostname was "Rays-pc" so there was nothing to change really, it still worked, but to make sure 192.168.2.1 was being used, I did change to ip address.

    sshot-13.jpg

    Hopefully this is now a much more simplified set of instructions to get this working.

    Above does not interfer with your wireless connection, you will still have internet access, what it does do, is stop disconnections with any network, whether wireless or not from interrupting playback in Mediaportal.
     
    • Like Like x 11
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. norkmeister

    norkmeister Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    MS Loopback Adapter unneccesarry

    I think the part where you add the loopback adapter is unneccesarry. You could just modify the address in the database table and the MediaPortal configuration to point to 127.0.0.1. You would also have to modify the firewall configuration to allow connections from this address where applicable.
     
  4. the1

    the1 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 8, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 2
    Home Country:
    Is changing the streaming IP in TVServer Config, alright (to 192.168.2.1)? Meaning will it still work?
     
  5. norkmeister

    norkmeister Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I followed the instructions above, excpet replacing the IP address suggested with 127.0.0.1 and not adding the MS Loopback adapter and by system is workig great.
     
  6. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have had MP working for months with this :)

    Using the localhost 127.0.01 may still be affected by network dropouts, at least if you use the dedicated ip you know exactly where the streaming is being done, ie you are using the MS Loopback device.
     
  7. norkmeister

    norkmeister Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 11, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Actually localhost won't be affected by any network dropouts. Try it yourself. Ping localhost about 50 times and try disconnecting/reconnecting your NIC a few times. It won't lose a single ping.
     
  8. cilla
    • Premium Supporter

    cilla MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 29, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    IT Systemelektroniker
    Location:
    Lüdinghausen
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I tried 127.0.0.1/localhost and using WLAN Card.
    On resume from standby the WLAN Card tried to get a IP-adress, this takes a few secounds.
    The MP crashed in this time.

    By using loop back Adapter everything is working well ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Try watching TV and doing that :)

    Have tried localhost settings, they never worked reliably after standby or when wireless dropped out, whereas the loopback device has, this may be down to the stream type, but as I'm no expert on internet protocols, who knows.

    Glad to see it was not only me who had the localhost not working, thanks cilla
     
  10. nicksti

    nicksti Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 1, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    hello!

    I have the same problems on a single-seat machine.
    Should the IP-Adress for the loopback-adapter be in the ip-range according to my router (In my case 10.0.0.1 - 10.0.0.255), or is it a second isolated network, only for Mediaportal??

    Can I also use internet-connection with the loopback-Adapter?
    Should I configure a fixed IP on my router for the wireless-adapter mac-address ?
     
  11. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It should not involve your router, I certainly made no settings there.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!