Multiseat / Can't connect to database

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by grubi, June 22, 2008.

  1. grubi

    grubi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +86 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I'm trying to setup a client ot connect to my TV-Server however I always get: "Connected to TvServer, Unable to connect to database". I'm really running out of ideas as TV-Client works flawlessly on the server itself.
    I also rechecked that browser service is running on the server.
    Any idea what I'm missing?
    Running latest svn of MP 1.0 RC1 on server and client.
    Both are XP SP2.
    DB is MSSQL Express 2005.
    Any suggestions what to check to track down the problem?



    Thanks.
    Regards,
    grubi.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. charli181
    • Team MediaPortal

    charli181 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 3, 2007
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    computer telephony integration senior specialist
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Are the firewall ports(on client machine) opened up for client machine to talk with server.
     
  4. grubi

    grubi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +86 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I solved that problem.

    It is caused by the fact that in gentle.conf I had a connect string referring to the servername and not it's ip address although I specified an ip address in the tv-plugin connect dialog. It seems that this setting is derived from the server setting in setuptv.exe TV-Server settings. The problem also was that if you manually change that value in the gentle.conf on the client side it always gets overwritten as the client seems to poll that information from the server. If you try to change it manually on the server you also have to be careful that there can be multiple instances of gentle.conf which the server tries to keep in sync. So if you change the wrong on there your changes also get overwritten.

    Of course all this should have worked from the beginning if I had setup a working name resolution, however at home I had disabled NETBIOS for good reasons.
     
  5. chemelli
    • Team MediaPortal

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    You can solve your issue adding the desired line to the HOSTS file. You get name resolution without netbios :p

    Simone
     
  6. grubi

    grubi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +86 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thats another way to solve the problem.
    As far as I can say for now the only valid one.
    Without name resolution or at least an entry in the hosts file you will always get
    the "connection lost to TV-Service" error and I did not find to a way to get around it
    without name resolution (See my other post).

    grubi.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!