mysqld.exe CPU spikes whenever TV Server is running | Page 3

Discussion in 'General Support' started by DragonQ, February 16, 2013.

  1. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    How does one upgrade from MySQL 5.1 to 5.6? It looks really complicated and some of the instructions are just wrong (e.g. there is no "remove instance" option in the MySQL Server Instance Config Wizard for me).


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 1
  4. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It's OK, I backed up TV-Server settings, uninstalled MySQL 5.1 and installed MySQL 5.6. I had to manually add "HTPC" (hostname of HTPC) to the list of allowed hostnames for the "root" account using MySQL Workbench, then I just reinstalled the TV-Server part of DJBlu's Custom Data Grabber. Imported the channels back and configured settings as appropriate.

    CPU spikes are still there, albeit lower than before. Can't be sure if that's due to the upgrade though, since it reduced last time I did a complete MP reinstall as well (even though I restored the schedules). Did my MySQL log from before not provide any clues?
     
  5. megahorst
    • Super User

    megahorst Super User

    Joined:
    July 8, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    173
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Here you can find a manual for the update procedure from 5.1 to 5.6 that @azzuro and I have created:

    Klick
     
    Last edited: February 25, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  6. jhb

    jhb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 19, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SW Developer - realtime appl.
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I have a split setup (server separate from client) and I also have the spikes on the client - causing stuttering. I have tries to use UNC paths instead of RTSP without success. It is however not on all channels...
    ...most SDTV channels are working just fine, they are on other MUXes though.


    I never had this type of problems on 1.2.3.

    I have the problem on Swedish national TV channels (SVT) both HDTV (running on a Blackgold DVB-T2 card) and SDTV (running on Winfast 1000 DVB-T card). Swedish TV4 and all other channels (encrypted or not) are without stuttering, independent of TV-card (The third card is a FloppyDTV with a CAM for encrypted channels).

    Hope this might give some ideas...
     
  7. 2mad
    • Premium Supporter

    2mad MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 13, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    had the same problems here (with 1.2.3. on a single setup) - mysld.exe used about 50 percent CPU average, causing stuttering backup of any kind of video.
    as soon as I deleted a view "old" schedules, the CPU usage of mysqld.exe is now below 5 percent. It seems that one schedule with setting "all channels" caused the problem.
     
  8. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    Hmm.
    I use MS SQL, have no schedules, but the database "eats" 50% of mu CPU.
    As a result, I have troubles with watching all MPEG-4 channels (both DVB-S and DVB-S2).
    Even if they FTA.
    Nothing bad did I have on 1.2.3
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!