Need help setting up new remote for MediaPortal.

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Marienkind, November 8, 2016.

  1. Marienkind

    Marienkind Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I just bought an Ortek remote, one of these:
    https://www.amazon.com/Ortek-Window...00224ZDFY/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

    And I'm trying to configure the Green (Start) Button to launch Media Portal. But I don't know what kind of remote it falls under in MediaPortal's configuration app. I'm going to need to set up all the other buttons too because they don't work right in the app itself. Pause does nothing. The back arrow does nothing.. etc.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  4. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +985 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The post referenced by MM is the place to start. To get the Ortek/Hama remote to work optimally, you really need to use an additional tool called "AutoHotKey". This tool traps keystrokes and allows you to map them to other keystrokes. This keystroke-mapping is required in order to get the Ortek/Hama to work properly.

    Please read the file "Centarea HID.txt" included in the ZIP file, and then read the comments at the start of the file "Centarea HID.ahk" (this is the AutoHotKey script that performs the keystroke mapping). Then do this:

    (1) Download and install "AutoHotKey". The web address is included in the comments in the AHK file.

    (2) In "MP Config", in the "Remotes and Input Devices" section:
    (a) On the "HID" tab, deselect "Generic HID" (depending on the version of MP that you are using, this might be called "General HID" or just "HID").
    (b) On the "Microsoft MCE" tab (if present), deselect "Microsoft MCE".
    (c) On the "Sceneo" tab, select "Centarea HID".
    Save the changes and exit.

    (3) Move the file "Centarea HID.xml" in the folder:
    C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\InputDeviceMappings\
    If you cannot see the "ProgramData" folder, you need to change your folder options so that hidden folders become visible.

    (4) Move the file "Centarea HID.ahk" to your startup folder and reboot. Alternatively, double click the AHK file to start it running.

    You should now be able to use the Ortek/Hama START button to invoke MP, and most of the other buttons on the remote should work correctly (there are some restrictions -- see the TXT file for details).

    I use the Ortek/Hama myself, although I have setup a Harmony 650 universal remote to transmit the Ortek/Hama signals to the Ortek/Hama IR receiver.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Good, you should send it back.
    The remote you bought is not compatible with Microsoft standard MCE remotes.
    Of course you could get it to work but it will be a pain.

    If you need an external receiver I would recommend the following from Inteset:
    http://shop.inteset.com/usb-external-infrared-ir-receiver-only-with-cable
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00YFC2IQ8
    I have never tried it myself however I've had the most pleasant experience with an internal variant of that same hardware.
    Inteset also sells a remote which is apparently highly praised too: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00M4I1BAY
    Alternatively you could use another kind if universal remote control such as Logitech Harmony or Philips Prestigo.

    If you want a similar solution with both remote and receiver go for this kind of HP remote:
    https://www.amazon.com/HP-Infrared-...000?ie=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=184DYNY456K1CFP11BJ0

    This one should do too:
    https://www.amazon.com/Lenovo-Micro...TF8&qid=1478617029&sr=1-8&keywords=MCE remote
     
    Last edited: November 8, 2016
  6. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    723
    Ratings:
    +1,207 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The Ortek remote may not be compatible with Microsoft standard MCE remotes but it works straight out of the box on Windows Media Center and requires only minimal setting changes to getting working to 95% on Media Portal. Further if you follow CyberSimian's instructions, which are not at all painfull, you will get it close to 100% functional in MP and additionally you have the very useful mouse capability in a robust, good quality and cheap remote control.:p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Marienkind

    Marienkind Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Even if it doesn't work with MediaPortal that's okay because I have other apps it works great with.
    Thanks for this. I had already seen that thread and tried AutoHotKey before making this one. None of it made sense to me and I didn't buy a remote just so I'd have to learn how to write scripts to use it. This method doesn't fully work for me but that might be because I'm on MP 1.11 and refuse to upgrade. I tried it on 1.15 and it still doesn't work. None of the newer versions ever worked right and always messed something up like the UI. I'm going to see if my original MCE remote will work with the Ortek IR receiver once I find it. If it does I'll use it for MP and the Ortek remote for everything else.
     
    Last edited: November 8, 2016
  8. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    If the IR signals are compatible, your MCE remote will most certainly work in exactly the same way as the Ortek.
    What matters is the receiver, the remote not so much, it either works or does not with your receiver.
    What's important is how your IR signal is interpreted by the receiver and sent to the system.
     
  9. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I had no idea it was doing mouse as well. A fully compatible MCE receiver like the ones from Inteset also does mouse, then you just need to find a remote that's supporting it.
    The only MCE IR emitter device I know of supporting mouse input is the original Microsoft MCE IR keyboard that features a joystick to control your mouse.
     
  10. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    723
    Ratings:
    +1,207 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The mouse capability is integral, see attached picture. Works well.

    remote.jpg
     
  11. Marienkind

    Marienkind Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    My original MCE remote doesn't work with the Ortek receiver. But I think I got all the functions of this remote to work in MediaPortal by basically doing what CyberSimian said but enabling more options. HID, Media Keys, MCE and Sceneo rather than just Sceneo. Only thing is I can't get the green button to launch MediaPortal. Somehow, I lost Media Center when I upgraded to Windows 8.1 a few months ago, so the service isn't installed. I never noticed that because my original MCE remote was launching MediaPortal with no problems. Now I'm trying to figure out how the get Media Center back.
     
    • Outdated Information Outdated Information x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!