New Music Database | Page 5

Discussion in 'Listen Music' started by hwahrmann, September 27, 2007.

  1. mba

    mba Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 16, 2005
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi hwahrmann



    Will this new database enable me to handle multiple disc albums gracefully? What I mean is currently when an album contains eg 2 cds it is listed as
    Album --->
    1. Number 1 on cd 1.flac
    1. Number 1 on cd 2.flac
    2. Number 2 on cd 1.flac
    2. Number 2 on cd 2.flac
    3. Number 3 on cd 1.flac
    3. Number 3 on cd 2.flac

    and what I would like is

    Album --->
    CD 1 -->
    1. Number 1 on cd 1.flac
    2. Number 2 on cd 1.flac
    3. Number 3 on cd 1.flac
    CD 2 -->
    1. Number 1 on cd 2.flac
    2. Number 2 on cd 2.flac
    3. Number 3 on cd 2.flac

    by using a discnumber tag.

    Kind regards
    Martin Bang Andersen
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria

    yes, the discnumber will be prefixed. so you'll see:
    0101. Number 1 on cd 1.flac
    0102. Number 2 on cd 1.flac
    0103. Number 3 on cd 1.flac
    0201. Number 1 on cd 2.flac
    0202. Number 2 on cd 2.flac
    0203. Number 3 on cd 2.flac
     
  4. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Problem should be fixed.
    Please note that a Database rescan is needed.
     
  5. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Any issues left regarding no Coverart in some cases?
    Does adding to playlist work correct now in every view?
     
  6. geov
    • Premium Supporter

    geov MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 1, 2006
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business & Solution Analyst
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Hi hwahrmann / rtv

    I have a problem again with the new database, which I have confirmed started about 3 SVN's back. If you do a database re-org or rescan you loose all your Album detail and can’t see more than 3 or 4 albums on the my-music screen. I have tested this on many skins, including the blue-2 skin and they all give this problem. The last SVN tested was Revision:16189.

    I have also confirmed that if I copy my backed-up music.db files over the re-org/rescan versions that all my album detail come back and are viewable again.
     
  7. rtv
    • Premium Supporter

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Could you please tell us what exactly are the "Album detail" you're missing?
    Despite the AlbumArtist View which I cannot test since I use "Various Artists" everything including the AMG lookup is working okay here :confused:
     
  8. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    same for me as rtv stated. amg lookup works ok. no problems
     
  9. geov
    • Premium Supporter

    geov MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 1, 2006
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business & Solution Analyst
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa


    Sorry, perhaps I phrased it wrong...I wil try again.

    This is exactly what I did, step for step...

    1) I installed the latest SVN, and made a backup of my previous installation by ticking the "backup" box.
    2) I opened MediaPortal and go to the my-music screen, my default is album-view.
    3) All my albums are there, all 250 of them and all the tags are also there. So nothing is wrong.
    4) I change view to lets say artist-view, still no problem...
    5) Now I close MediaPortal and open the MediaPortal config-util and go to Music-Database.
    6) I click on the "Update database from selected shares" button.
    7) After 2minutes MediaPortal informs me that the database has been updated.
    8) I close MediaPortal config-app and start mediaportal again.
    9) Then I go to the My-Music screen, and all I see are the first four albums, the other 246 that I originally saw are all missing. If I change to a different view, lets say "Songs" I only see the songs from the four albums I saw earlier.
    10) Then I go to the settings-music screen in MediaPortal, and select "Reorganise my music database-start" after a few minutes MP tels me that its completed.
    11) I go back to the my-music screen, but still only see the first four albums, the others are still missing.
    12) I then close MediaPortal, retrieve the "MusicDatabase.db3 (v9 and v10) files from the directory where I made the backup when I installed the SVN, and replace the newly "reorganised" MusicDatabase.db3 files with the ones from the backup directory.
    13) I go back into MediaPortal and all my albums are back, all 250 of them.
    14)If I now do another "reorganise" from within MP or a "update database" from the MP-Config-utility I loose all my albums again.

    Is there anything else that I need to give you?
     
  10. sleepycol

    sleepycol Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 2, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I think the Now Playing screen is using the wrong quality of thumbnails? Its using the smaller 128 size rather than the 512 size. This means the thumbs look very poor resolution in the now playing screen. Is this a known bug?

    Is anyone else finding this problem?

    Have you also removed the "scan for various artists option"? As this is messing up all my folders with multiple artists in and its picking a random artist and using wrong cover art.

    Cheers,
    Colin
     
  11. geov
    • Premium Supporter

    geov MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 1, 2006
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business & Solution Analyst
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa


    Hi hwahrmann / rtv

    Thought I will let you know that with the lates SVN (Revision:16213) this problem is now fixed...thanks guys.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!