PC waking itself and TV Server not working after standby

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by doveman, December 7, 2011.

  1. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: v1.2.1
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Win7 Ult x64
    CPU Type: Phenom II X4 955
    HDD: 2TB Samsung F4
    Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    Motherboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80
    Video Card: HD6950 2GB
    Video Card Driver: 11.10
    Sound Card: onboard Realtek AC97 (ALC892)
    Sound Card AC3: no AC3
    Sound Card Driver: 6.01.6482
    1. TV Card: Hauppauge Nova-T 500
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: 4.3.27240
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD11
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow
    HTPC Case: Custom
    Cooling: Scythe 120mm Bottom Intake Fan, TRUE Rev.c CPU heatsink
    Power Supply: Antec CP-850
    Remote: Nova-T 500
    TV: Sony XBR800 36"
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI

    I've got two problems.



    1) PC is waking itself from standby at wierd times. PS++ has EPG wake disabled, as well as the Shares and Network monitoring. The tvserver_tv.log shows I sent it to standby at 5:18 and it woke at 7:18 with "TV service PowerEventThread 30".

    2) After waking, the TVService is knackered, as you can see from the tvserver_error.log. I have to kill it and restart it before I can load TV Server config or tune into TV with MP.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. georgius
    • Premium Supporter

    georgius Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,376
    Likes Received:
    437
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Ratings:
    +668 / 0
    Home Country:
    Slovakia Slovakia
    Show System Specs
    I have similar problem with suddenly waking up my HTPC. After long time investigation I looked into Task Scheduler and I found some tasks from Microsoft, which wakes up HTPC for some work. When you run Task Scheduler you should see recent executed tasks and maybe task which wakes your PC will be between them.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, you may well be right that a scheduled task is causing this, although it's tricky to tell from Task Scheduler as it only shows the last run time. I've had a look at all the enabled tasks and I can't find any that are set to wake the PC to run.

    I had a look in Event Viewer and around the time the PC woke up the System log shows:

    The system time has changed to ‎2011‎-‎12‎-‎07T07:18:21.500000000Z from ‎2011‎-‎12‎-‎07T05:18:24.135714100Z.

    and the Application log shows:

    Source: TV Server
    Date: 07/12/2011 07:18:22
    PowerEvent handled successfully by the service.
     
  5. SilentException
    • Premium Supporter

    SilentException Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rijeka, Croatia
    Ratings:
    +1,129 / 0
    Home Country:
    Croatia Croatia
    powercfg -lastwake
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    As there is 3rd party plugin enabled (PS++) it would be good to first reproduce the issue without it before reporting a bug.

    From tv service's logs:

    Who knows if it has some side effects...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Well that says "Wake History Count -0" but I'll try it again next time it wakes.

    The same thought just occured to me (disable PS++) so I'll see what happens tonight! I could manually standby and resume in a bit though, to see if the TVserver errors are still occuring.
     
  8. georgius
    • Premium Supporter

    georgius Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,376
    Likes Received:
    437
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Ratings:
    +668 / 0
    Home Country:
    Slovakia Slovakia
    Show System Specs
    If I know this command earlier, I could spare a lot of time investigating why is waking up my HTPC.

    Edit: Also can you help this command:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. powercfg -waketimers
    3.  
    It should display active wake timers (if any).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, that says there's none as well.
     
  10. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Well I did a manual standby and resume (with PS++ disabled) and it's still producing the same errors I'm afraid.

    Also, my remote wasn't working after resuming this time (it normally does) and I got a HCWhelper crash when I closed MP (this seems to happen a lot for me). After restarting MP the remote is working but I have to stop and restart TVservice to get that working.
     
  11. robbo100
    • Premium Supporter

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Could anything on your network be broadcasting magic packet wakeup command to your PC? I once had a router that always woke my PC up whenever UPNP was enabled in the router settings.

    With regards to problems with the TV Server after recovery from standby, are you using DVB EPG? If so, try removing the tick from the CRC Check option. If you are still having problems, make sure you only have DVB EPG set to grab EPG when the tuner is in use (and not when it is idle). I haven't read your logs, but these issues have caused problems for some before and might help you.

    Robbo100
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!