[Bug] - Picture freeze when jumping forward

Discussion in 'Submit: Bug Reports' started by HTPCSourcer, March 12, 2018.

  1. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    990
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,096 / 20
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal 2 Version: 2.1.3

    Description
    Hello,

    For quite some time I occasionally encounter the following issue:



    Playback of (cut) mkv movie files is working normally, however, when moving forward/backward, the picture freezes while audio continues to play normally. Until now I was suspecting a bad recording but now I believe that there is another issue given the following elements:
    • The original ts file is behaving OK when played from the recording folder.
    • The cut mkv file can be stopped/continued and skipped as desired in WMC
    • I can't move forward in the cut mkv file. Once paused, MP2 displays the described weird behavior.
      • Even more, when the file is played again and the option "start replay from ..." is selected, then the same issue occurs: screen stays dark while audio is playing from the desired time onwards
      • Playback starts normally if started from the beginning of the file. Jumping forward yields the same problem again.
    I don't understand what is happening since the great majority of cut files behaves as expected. It only happens sometimes. However, I recorded "Hidden figures" now five times and had the same problem with each recording.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    Not reproducible in each occasion.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,374
    Likes Received:
    4,551
    Ratings:
    +6,509 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Can you try to playback the file inside GraphEdit with same filters as in MP2? It should be LAV as source splitter and codecs by default, but it would be good to check the used graph in MP2 what filters are exactly used.
     
  4. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    990
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,096 / 20
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I tried, but it isn't working.

    I assume that I am doing something daft. I was using GraphEdit 64 but can't connect to any remote stream - the windows stays empty. The attempt to manually start playing the file fails. Do I maybe need to install additional libraries?
     
  5. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,374
    Likes Received:
    4,551
    Ratings:
    +6,509 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    When you try to connect the MP2 graph please use the 32 Bit version. On Windows 10 you also need to register the proppage.dll once (regsvr32). It is often included in Graphedit/Graphstudio(Next) downloads.

    Gesendet von meinem SM-G930F mit Tapatalk
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    990
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,096 / 20
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This is the MP2 graph:
    MP2 Grapg.JPG

    This is the same file played from GraphEdit. It is pulling VMR instead EVR though. There is no Fast Forward so I can test the problematic function.
    GraphEdit 1.JPG

    And this is the situation when MP2 is not running in parallel - the system is pulling MS-DTV now:
    GraphEdit 2.JPG
     
  7. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 Design Group

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5,171
    Likes Received:
    1,345
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,001 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Is this problem solved or still open? I think I faced the same last days and found this thread by search function.
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    990
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,096 / 20
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Nothing changed. I guess @morpheus_xx didn’t see my reply with the graphs.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!