Problem with Remote Control One-for-all Streamer (1 Viewer)

Stephan Michels

December 17, 2019
Home Country
Germany Germany
Hi, I've been using Media Portal now for several years and never experienced any problems. It's a fantastic piece of software. At first I've been using a Trust RC-2400 Remote Control for Windows Media Center, later I tryied several programmable ones from Philips, Logitech, One-for-all, NoNames from China all worked find. Now I was trying a One-for-all Streamer RC, a very small and programmable device. It learns all command well. And they do work fine if I a) press any button once or b) keep it pressed for repeated command send. BUT when I press any key a second time, no reaction. Thus I cannot navigate through lists or the UI anymore. Because I do need the cursor keys. I guess it has something to do the the HID repeat and delay settings. Can anyone please help?

I'am using MediaPortal 1.x on an Intel NUC Mini PC with inbuilt IR Receiver.

CyberSimian

Test Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • June 10, 2013
    Southampton
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    with inbuilt IR Receiver.
    Ah, an MP user who likes a challenge :eek: :D.

The remote controls that are easiest to setup are those that have a separate USB IR receiver. There are two common types:

(1) Those that appear in Windows "Device Manager" as "Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver". These are the most compatible of all, and your One-for-All remote control ought to have a pre-defined setup code to send the signals for this IR receiver (the remote should not need to learn the signals). All of the One-for-All remotes that I have include this code set. However, I have no knowledge of your particular One-for-All, so it is possible that they have omitted this code set on the basis that WMC is old and no longer supported by Microsoft.