Questions regarding Watched Status sync

Discussion in 'Trakt' started by popy, October 1, 2014.

  1. popy
    • Super User

    popy Super User

    Joined:
    July 3, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    83
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2
    Show System Specs
    Hey guys.

    I have used follw.it a long time with MP-TVSeries & Moving Pictures.
    Now the service was shut down and ill think ill will be switching to Trakt.
    But i have some questions.

    My Setup is as follows:

    Dedicated TV Server with Mediaportal Client + TVServer Installed
    This Server/Installation holds all the databases for MPTVSeries & MovingPictures and also the fanarts.
    The client of MediaPortal will never ever be started on this machine.
    On this server i am adding new series, movies in the MPTVSeries & MovingPictures Config Tools.

    Multiple Client HTPCs with Mediaportal Client Installed
    On boot every client is copying all the databases and fanarts from the server and OVERWRITES the local ones. Also the local watched flags get overwritten with an older state (at the time of adding the latest series to the server DBs).
    Then it launches Mediaportal which sync all the watched flags with follw.it (and now trakt)

    So here are my questions:
    • With follw.it, after watching a series or movie the watched flag was immediately synced
      Is this also the same with trakt plugin?
    • Does trakt.tv sync immediately at startup of MP? Also when ill "reset" the database to the server state on each boot
    Ex.: i am watching an episode in the living room to the end and giving it 10 stars. Living room client will be shut down. ~ 10 mins later I am booting sleeping room client -> it will copy the latest server databases and overwrite its own mptvseries and mp databases -> will the episode from the living room be marked as watched?

    thx
    pOpY


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Yes.That is called a scrobble.

    Yes (there is a configurable delay in the GUI Advanced Settings if you have the Extensions plugin installed).
    There is also a configurable periodic sync whilst running. All syncs are 'Full' and not incremental.

    Note: if you want to sync ratings with other machines then ensure you enable sync ratings in settings.

    If you're copying your databases around why are you asking me if it will marked as watched? Of course it will, you just copied your database which contains the watched flags/ratings etc :)

    Even if the trakt plugin was configured to sync after that, it will reconcile that the episode/movie is already watched when comparing with online state. You can even turn off library sync on one of your clients that way it will only scrobble and send new watched states to trakt.

    Note: because you're copying databases around you are not running a recommended / supported setup for TVSeries / MovingPictures which does not officially support that. You run the risk of those clients attempting to write to the database during that period. It would be smart to configure a delay for the sync so you know the database has already been copied or even prevent any library sync on less used pc's. The risk may be minimal and may never happen, but it's there.
     
  4. popy
    • Super User

    popy Super User

    Joined:
    July 3, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    83
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2
    Show System Specs
    Hey ltfearme.

    thx for the answers.

    Dont get me wrong, the database copy is done ONCE at every BOOT in this order:

    • MP Client Windows boots
    • BEFORE start of MP it will copy databases and fanart from server...
    • ...and then start Mediaportal
    So ill think this is not an unsupported setup for TVSeries / MovingPictures.
    I am just doing this because ill want to admin the TVSeries / MovingPictures databases and fanart at one place, the server.
    ill know that i am copying over the "old" watched flags on every boot but here comes TRAKT ;)

    Does this work with trakt plugin when the TVSeries / MovingPictures database gets reseted on every boot?
    Or could this whole procedure i am doing on every boot done inanther way with trakt?

    thx
    pOpY
     
  5. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Thanks for the clarification, then yes that should be okay as long as TVSeries/MovPics hasn't initialised which is the case.


    Problem with that scenario, if you're copying a database which has no watched flags / ratings set then it will write to every single episode movie record when sync'd from online...this can be very fast but could take a CPU hit depending on how many movies/shows/episodes you have watched and rated. It would be a good to copy one of the client databases back to the server periodically so it has the latest watched/userratings and hence less work to do when syncing.
     
  6. popy
    • Super User

    popy Super User

    Joined:
    July 3, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    83
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2
    Show System Specs
    thx for the info.
    I have done updating of the server dbs wacthed flags from time to time this way: Just started the MPTVSeries and MovPic Config Tool and that automatically synced the watchedflags from follw.it without even starting MP on the server.

    Is this also possible with trakt in any way?

    Ex.: Schedule a task with windows taskplaner on the server which fires trakt sync every day or so.

    thx
    pOpY
     
  7. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    The Trakt plugin only does the sync from the GUI i.e. when you launch MediaPortal...we did have an option for syncing from configuration but was removed. I can consider re-adding it in a future build.
     
  8. popy
    • Super User

    popy Super User

    Joined:
    July 3, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    83
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2
    Show System Specs
    Would be nice if the option comes back ;)
    Currently i can live without it -> your plugin has todo a little bit mor on boot o_O

    thx
    pOpY
     
  9. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,457
    Likes Received:
    4,241
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,385 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I have plans to improve the configuration from the MediaPortal configuration tool, so will slip it in there.

    Priority right now is to get the plugin ready for the next version of trakt website/api though as a lot stuff will stop working then.

    Like what? or do you mean has to do more from the configuration tool?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!