RAM Disk....via IMDisk toolkit....not persisting...disappears on re-boot

Discussion in 'General Support' started by tonewheelkev, February 3, 2019.

  1. tonewheelkev

    tonewheelkev Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 10, 2012
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +23 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Used this RAM disk successfully on an older machine in 2017...and setup was a doddle!!
    Now, run into error problems when trying to config (Error: The drive cannot be formatted)



    ....Following this, I can 'temporarilly' setup a RamDisk in windows10, but it doesn't re-appear after re-boot.
    Oh...and I have switched 'off'' the fast boot in power options
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tonewheelkev

    tonewheelkev Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 10, 2012
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +23 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Perhaps I'm not making much sense here.....so FWIW, here's the error mesage: upload_2019-2-4_21-59-34.png

    A bit of GOOGLING suggests that RAMdisk, and Windows10 (1809) aren't getting along??
    Are there any other varieties of (free)Ramdisk that members are using with success??
     
  4. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I use ImDisk (as a RAM disk) on two different Win 10 (1809) 64-bit machines with no problems, and I've just installed it on another machine (1809) and set up a RAM disk - all fine, no error messages (haven't tried the 'reboot' test yet).

    Are you using the correct (64-bit or 32-bit) version of ImDisk for the OS you are running?
     
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It is fine after a reboot as well.

    Your problem sounds a bit like a user permissions issue?
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. tonewheelkev

    tonewheelkev Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 10, 2012
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +23 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks!!
    Hhhmmmnn....wonder what has changed, 'permission-wise'??

    Can't get past this point (Everything run as Admin)
    upload_2019-2-5_10-33-57.png
     
    Last edited: February 5, 2019
  7. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  8. tonewheelkev

    tonewheelkev Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 10, 2012
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +23 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Have tried this both ways...same result.. :(
     
  9. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Running out of ideas...

    All I've done to test it (twice, on two different PCs, both running Win 10 pro '1809' 64-bit, neither PC has had ImDisk installed before) is download the latest version of ImDisk from https://sourceforge.net/projects/imdisk-toolkit/files/20190130/ImDiskTk-x64.exe , installed it, and run the 'RamDisk Configuration' tool with the default options - other than choosing 4GB as the size for the second test. I haven't noticed the Windows 'You need to format the disk' message box popping up either - I just end up with an NTFS formatted, usable RAM disk.

    I'm logged in as a normal admin-level user on the PCs
     
    Last edited: February 5, 2019
  10. tonewheelkev

    tonewheelkev Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 10, 2012
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +23 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    ...Just realised that this has, possibly, been further complicated by recent install of MSI RamDisk....which came bundled originally with the B360M mobo in my system!
    MSI have withdrawn this feature....apparently due to a Windows10 compilation problem.
    So...I have removed all traces(supposedly!) with Revo uninstaller, before trying again with IMDisk Toolkit....but still same problem...Drive cannot be formatted!!
    Struggling to find a way forward here...:(
     
  11. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Have you tried a different drive letter for the ram disk (just in case R: is somehow conflicting with 'hidden' recovery partition or something)?

    Maybe try using CCleaner to clean up the registry?
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!