[Videos] - Randomly stops playback of recordings or live TV (multiseat) | Page 3

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 BETA 1' started by robby3, September 28, 2009.

  1. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Just in case you are on RC5 and also using IFC plugin see here


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Pom

    Pom Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 10, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics (RF) Engineer
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I'm running RC4, no IFC plugin...

    Error log lists loads of entries thus:

    "2010-06-29 20:54:25.856000 [ERROR][MPMain(1)]: TvRecorded: Error comparing files - System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at TvPlugin.TvRecorded.Compare(GUIListItem item1, GUIListItem item2)"

    Sorry - i'll post in correct forum if problem persists ;-)

    No answer on my MS Loopback Adaptor question for single-seat users - is it compulsary?

    Thanks
     
  4. Pom

    Pom Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 10, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics (RF) Engineer
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Dumb question above - sorry. I know that MSLoopback Adaptor isn't necessary, however i am going to set it up for peace of mind and in case my potentially flaky network has anything to do with TV recordings stopping randomly (even though the live feed ran fine at the time of recording (i.e. didn't stop timeshifting)).

    I'd still be interested to know if it's at all possible that network drop-outs can cause a recording being played to exit out back to the menu....???
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    If your using a hardwired router, then there should not be any problem, if wireless then use M$ adapter, there should be connection issues shown in the error.log, if not getting those then not lost connection.
     
  6. Pom

    Pom Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 10, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics (RF) Engineer
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Just a quick update on my problem in case anyone else stumbles upon this thread with the same issue. It looked like there was a slight corruption in the .ts file at the point(s) where the recording would stop playing and bump back out to the Recorded TV Menu. If i repeatedly cued the recording up to just a few seconds before a 'bad piece' of the file, then at least 4/5 times it would reliably stop playing at that point. For the other 1/5, the recording would play past this point but there would be a 'blip' in the video (hence why i said curruption).

    So what i then did was change the TV codec's to MPA/MPC (the default ones!) and the recording would then 5/5 times reliably play through the 'corruption' zone!

    Fingers crossed i've fixed it by changing the codec's - time will tell.... I was using the NVIDIA Purevideo codec and i have some thoughts on what the problem could be, but it's really not worth me speculating here as i'm probably wrong and it's probably just one of these stupid problems no one will ever get to the bottom of!

    BTW - i don't actually believe the recording file was corrupted as such, it was just a good analogy for my explanation above! Looking like codec trouble...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!