Recording Disk Quota not working for networked drives (samba drives?)

Discussion in '1.3.x' started by ahkali, March 21, 2013.

  1. ahkali

    ahkali Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.3.0

    Description
    With all plugins disabled I cannot use the 'disk quota' feature on networked drives (in my case samba share on an ubuntu server, which is my record folder). It is stuck at 'calculating space..'



    Steps to Reproduce:
    1) Add a samba network share for a recording target.
    2) Try and use the 'disk quota' feature
    3) The recording works, the disk quota does not.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: March 31, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Seems to be working fine here, so it might be related to the Ubuntu server.

    But (as the bug report info mentioned) we need at least Logs & system specs to figure out what's going on.
     
  4. ahkali

    ahkali Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    So... let me get this right. You've got the TV Server installed on a Windows 8 machine and your recordings folder is set to an SMB share on the Ubuntu server?

    First thing i noticed is that your screenshot doesn't show a drive selected in the pulldown menu. Second thing that could need attention is the user account the TvService is running under. This should have write priviliges on your Ubuntu server (but since you state the recording is working, i assume you've got that set up correctly).

    Curious if you're able to test the same thing with a SMB share on a Windows machine, to see if the quota works on that for you.

    Disk Quota.PNG
     
    Last edited: March 31, 2013
  6. ahkali

    ahkali Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Yes this is correct. Windows 8 is the tv server and ubuntu (12.10) is a file server running samba. The reason that the screenshot doesn't show the drive selected is because no drives are available in the list. It just shows 'checking space...' with no drives available--it is completely blank, no choices-- if I try and click the blank area where a choice normally would be nothing happens (it is not a selectable field) which makes sense I guess because it is completely blank. I would take a picture of this, but when the window loses focus the selection drop-down collapses.
     
    Last edited: March 31, 2013
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Well, then that explains why the Disk Quota option isn't working. Since you didn't select a drive, there is nothing to calculate.

    ** EDIT **
    Just tried to set up a network share for the Recordings folder, but the Disk Quota option isn't working on shares. Also setting login details for the TvService doesn't matter in this case. Now the question is, if this is supposed to work or not...
    Remote share.PNG

    @Owlsroost any thought on this?
     
    Last edited: March 31, 2013
  8. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    After some further investigation (big TNX to @mm1352000) it seems that the Disk Quota is calculated based on the Win32_logicalDisk WMI class, which represents a data source that resolves to an actual local storage device on a computer system running Windows. Meaning: it's limited to local storage devices.

    So setting this to 'No Bug' for now, since network shares aren't supported.

    I also tried to map the network share to my TV Server PC, but that didn't work either. If there would be an alternative class which would also work with network shares, that might be a nice improvement, but team has to look into this.

    Added a note about this 'limitation' to the Wiki
     
    Last edited: March 31, 2013
  9. ahkali

    ahkali Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Ok thanks for the info. I suppose ill have to design my own script to monitor disk quota. But add me as one who would like 'network shares' as a requested feature enhancement. I'd imagine other people would find this useful as it is found in nextpvr, tvheadend, mythtv, (and probably others). Thanks again!
     
  10. kkendall

    kkendall Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 24, 2007
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Marketing & Communication
    Location:
    Gouda
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Network or NAS drives not supported... *ouch*. An essential thing in a good HTPC setup is offcourse a silent slimmed down PC, with networkdrives doing the recording, downloading and streaming (movies/videos/recordings/photos/music/etc). I'm sorry, but HTPC software not supporting this doesn't look good... :unsure:
     
  11. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Think you didn't read the entire thread. We're not talking about streaming/recording/etc. since this is all working. We're only talking about the Disk Quota option on network shares.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!