Recording via EPG could be easier

Discussion in 'Electronic Program Guide' started by Paul_G, April 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Paul_G

    Paul_G New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    One reason I used to use WMC over MP is the ease of use, it just worked (although MP is more flexible and advanced). Here's what I think should be improved:

    1) When in the EPG and I see something I want to record, I'd like to press the record button on my remote to record that program on that channel and at that time, not bring up a list of that programme on different channels and different times. Why not have that particular option by pressing more (I)nfo on remote?

    2) It would also be nice if MP is minimised that the icon could change to a red 'blob' or glow the MP icon so you can see MP is currently recording. There has been times when using WMC that I saw it was recording something so it stopped me shutting down my PC at night.



    I hope the devs can see this post ;)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,764
    Likes Received:
    4,666
    Ratings:
    +6,680 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    You posted inside MP1 forum, but just for reference: this feature is available inside MP2. The default actions on program are "watch now", "record", "extended schedule". The last one does what you want and shows all airings of the given program title.

    Regarding point 2: I think in Windows 10 (or maybe even earlier) the PC can enter "Away" mode, if you press the power button (which would have to be configured to use standby).This way the screen and audio goes off, but background tasks like TV recording will go on.
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,476
    Likes Received:
    4,695
    Ratings:
    +8,146 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Paul

    I can understand how the suggested behaviour with the record button would usually make it easier to record one-off programmes. However I think the suggestion fails to adequately consider series. If the programme is an episode of a series, surely it's more likely (or at least plausible) that the intention is to record the series (...rather than just the single episode, which is what would happen if we implemented your suggestion).

    An indicator is easy to miss. If you're really serious about not missing or messing up recordings, the combination of away mode (which has been around since Windows XP MCE Edition 2005) and MediaPortal's PowerScheduler plugin can solve that problem easily.
     
  5. Paul_G

    Paul_G New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Thanks for your responses I appreciate it.

    Regarding recording on MP1 can you not have the same dialogue box as MP2?

    I think I may take a look at MP2 although I think some of my plugins/skin may not be compatible.
     
  6. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,764
    Likes Received:
    4,666
    Ratings:
    +6,680 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Please be aware that MP1 and MP2 are completely different products, so MP1 plugins and skins will not work for MP2.
     
  7. Paul_G

    Paul_G New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Sorry, I meant that the MP2 versions of the plugins/skin might not be available.
     
  8. Jasmeet_181

    Jasmeet_181 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 5, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    116
    Ratings:
    +263 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    DJBlu's custom builds have something like this, that's configurable, added to them.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Capture.png
      Capture.png
      File size:
      35.8 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 20, 2016
      Views:
      133
    • Capture2.png
      Capture2.png
      File size:
      1.9 MB
      Uploaded:
      April 20, 2016
      Views:
      129
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,462
    Likes Received:
    409
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +808 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    One solution to this would be to make a distinction between pressing the OK button and pressing the RECORD button:

    OK button:
    The list of programmes with the selected title is displayed, allowing the user to select either a single programme to record, or repeated recording. This is the current behaviour.

    RECORD button:
    Schedule the selected programme for a single recording.

    Note that WMC allows the RECORD button to be pressed a second time, which turns a single recording into a series recording (if the programme is a series). However, this is not practical in MP1, since MP1 does not yet offer true series recording. So MP1 still needs to give the user the choice of which flavour of repeated recording he wants to use.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    Last edited: April 20, 2016
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Paul_G

    Paul_G New Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Looks good Jasmeet, where's the custom version?
     
  11. Jasmeet_181

    Jasmeet_181 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 5, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    116
    Ratings:
    +263 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    The latest version based on 1.13.0 is here but there are some reports of possible problems, 1.12.0 is here, there's some more information and links in the first post of that thread.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!