Refresh Rate Control Plugin (1 Viewer)

ThylakoiD

Portal Member
April 11, 2006
I have been playing with MediaPortal and HTPC for 8 months and one thing that I missed on computers generally was the ability to automatically adjust the refresh rate of the monitor according to the played video... so I gathered some knowledge of MP's sources and DirectShow and made this plugin. :)

First of all this plugin requires PowerStrip to be installed and running. (Support for other programs may be included later...)

Each time video strats playing, Refresh Rate Control will try to get its frame rate and then set best refresh rate from the list of refresh rates (set in plugin's configuration) to prevent "tearing" and get smooth video playback.

Configuration:
Monitor number is number of monitor that will be displaying the video (useful on multimonitor PCs)

Enable logging to file - if checked plugin will write logfile useful for debugging

Refresh Rate Control will snap to refresh rates set in the list of refresh rates.
This is the most important setting. Before adding new ref. rate to the list, you will be given a chance to test if monitor supports it; most monitors will support even more refresh rates than stated in Windows' Display dialog...
The best refresh rates for videos are:
for PAL (25fps): 50, 75, 100, 120, ... Hz;
for NTSC (29.9fps): 60, 90, 120, ... Hz;
for film (24fps): 48, 72, 96, ... Hz.

Here is the download link, copy the RefreshRateControl.dll to the Plugins/Process/ directory in MP's directory:

https://www.team-mediaportal.com/files/Download/Plugins/Video/RefreshRateControl

I hope you will find it useful...

ThylakoiD

NLS

Portal Pro
April 26, 2006
Home Country
Greece Greece
definately interesting... I just hope it won't burn down our TVs... (maybe it's time to write a disclaimer?)

smnnekho

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 6, 2006
    Germany