SAF v4.00 ''stable'' (StandAlone Filters) - DXVA ready (H.264 and VC-1). | Page 329

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by hoborg, September 2, 2008.

?

Should i integrate FFDshow in to SAF?

  1. Yes

    406 vote(s)
    85.5%
  2. No

    69 vote(s)
    14.5%
  1. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    So I should not enable passthrough in FFDShow audio config, right?

    Will this still give me digital out?

    (Maybe I should just test it, but the wife will kill me if I mess things up).

    :D


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Nope, analog only.

    ReClock change speed of video rendering 23.97->25 for example, but you need to speedup audio too to prevent desync.
    But how can be audio speedup when it is passthroughted to reciever?

    That is why it only work in analog mode.

    No acces for me.
     
  4. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Too bad :(

    Currently I use ReClock with optical digital and it works fine (with Video, not TV), so maybe I should just stick with that.
     
  5. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Well, this is only my logical conclusion. I newer used ReClock - i am on LCD - there is no need for this and all my media plays smooth.

    Maybe ReClock can decode-reencode passthrough audio by some trick, who know? But i didnt think so...
     
  6. carmenm

    carmenm Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 15, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    I confirm passthrough with ffdshow works fine now with dts and ac3.
    But did someone manage to get trueHD passthrough?
    It makes MP crash here.
     
  7. bushbrother

    bushbrother Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 14, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thanks for pointing me to that. i don't get a black screen, i just get a frozen snapshot of whatever the previous screen was before hitting "play", but sounds like there maybe a MP issue.

    I can confirm that CoreAVC works (I tried trial) and I also found that the Arcsoft h.264 codec works too (from HD Pack 2.2).

    The really strange thing is that I got BBC HD to play once only last night using PowerDVD so I know it works, but there is something strange going on when MP builds its graph, I will try out beta 19 tonight with proppage.dll changes to see if i can connect :)

    @hoborg - are you using Win7 x64?
     
  8. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    I have Win7 x64 installed on my working PC, my HTPC is WinXP based.
     
  9. bushbrother

    bushbrother Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 14, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hoborg,

    Just got home and tried Beta19test4 out. I did not even need to open the graph as it worked directly :) THANK YOU!

    Not quite sure what changed but it works, I tested with graphstudio and that works too, showing PDVD9 H.248 :)

    One question, when i quit mediaportal there are still many Haali icons left over (they go away after i move the mouse on them) and also some AC3 filter ones, I thought AC3 filter was removed in this version?

    Thanks, and I owe you a beer for your hard work on SAF!
     
  10. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    AC3 filter is not in beta 19any longer - dont you have installed it elsewher as separate install?
    You need to update MP to latest SVN to fix icons in try issue.
     
  11. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    i have used reclock in the past and you can use SPDIF out. you can either re-encode to ac3 or drop/repeat frames. I think that reclock and spdif is apparently hit and miss.

    1. Re-encode to AC3: DTS bitstream -> DTS decoder -> PCM Audio -> ReClock -> Resampled PCM Audio -> AC3 Encoder -> S/PDIF to receiver

    2. Passthrough mode: DTS bitstream -> ReClock -> DTS bitstream with dropped or repeated frames -> S/PDIF to receiver

    Don't know how to do it in mediaportal, and i was never very succesful with it so gave up (i have 24hz display, so only needed for 23.9XX fps)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!