Samusung LCD TV with VGA, DVI or HDMI?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by evgeninikolo, April 24, 2007.

  1. evgeninikolo

    evgeninikolo Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 9, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Bulgaria Bulgaria
    Hi,

    I would like to hear your oppinion about these three possibilities. But please, replay only if you have practical experience, not the theory. I intend to use the videocontroller on the mother board and only go for DVI/HDMI if there is a significant dieference in comparison to VGA.

    What videocard would you suggest to buy? Should it be with DVI or with HDMI interface (the TV has component (analogue), VGA and HDMI interfaces).



    Tia
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. knutinh

    knutinh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 4, 2005
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    From experience helping people out I will generally advice to stear away from Samsung for any PC use.

    -k
     
  4. mzemina
    • Premium Supporter

    mzemina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Project Manager
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America

    (1) Which manufacturer do you recommend?

    (2) Why don't you recommend Samsung for PC use?
     
  5. Marco9000

    Marco9000 Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 1, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've got a Samsung TV (LE-32R41B)connected to my HTPC.

    I use a ATi Radeon 9600 Pro for the connection and I am using the VGA port on the TV.

    This is because I can get pixel perfect mapping this way (1360x768, I believe 6 pixels disappear in width this way), using the hdmi-port is annoying because of the amount of overscan the TV has.
    The picture is "better" due to all filters but if you want to be able control the output (brightness, gamma and such) you need to use the VGA with a mode that eliminated the dnie filter.

    I think this results in the best picture (but you still need to use 60Hz) but still not optimized for PAL.
     
  6. Inker
    • Premium Supporter

    Inker Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    319
    Ratings:
    +319 / 0
    I agree, I use VGA-in on mine because of pixel perfect display.

    Why don't you recommend Samsung? I'm quite happy with mine.
     
  7. Maschine
    • Premium Supporter

    Maschine Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 15, 2004
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +84 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    My parents use a Samsung LCD with DVI. It's a desaster :-( The TV doesn't recognize the signal of the PC and just displays a stupid message "PC/DVI" which flies around on the screen ;)

    This happens sometimes when resuming from hibernation, sometimes also from a "fresh" boot (pc off before) or a reboot. Sometimes it helps to plug out-and-in the DVI cable, sometimes it doesn't help ;)

    I already talked to the Samsung hotline and they told me that nothing can be done, this is normal for DVI connections and I should use VGA - the screen doesn't have a VGA input... :mad:

    So from this I think you should go for VGA.

    Maschine

    P.S. any hints on how to solve the described problems are more than welcome!!!
     
  8. bigj

    bigj Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 10, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Do you mean that your Samsung won't sync to 1360x768 at 50Hz or that your graphics card won't generate that mode?

    Have you tried using powerstrip to add the mode/refresh@50hz ?

    BigJ.
     
  9. Marco9000

    Marco9000 Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 1, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The TV won't do 50Hz Reliably.
    I've tried that but have always fallen back to 60Hz.

    I've also used powerstrip to fumble around to get a good solution with the HDMI port but gave up.
     
  10. tb205gti

    tb205gti Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 29, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I'm quite pleased with My Samsung 32" - I use VGA connector from a ATI Mobility Radeon 9600.
     
  11. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Further reading:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/guide_connecting_htpc_flatscreen-t14886.html?t=14886

    And:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/choosing_lcd_tv-t13521.html?t=13521&highlight=samsung
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!