Should I switch from MP1 (1.2.3.0) to MP2? | Page 2

Discussion in 'General' started by Solitar, October 18, 2015.

  1. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,716
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,404 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Yes, there is. A series and movie management is integrated into MP2.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    @Skywizard
    One word of caution: you would be incorrect if you assumed that the import/export function handled all settings. It does not. Therefore you may find that TV is not functional after carrying out your proposed plan.
     
  4. Skywizard
    • Premium Supporter

    Skywizard MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Canberra
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    OK thanks I may as well do a fresh configure from scratch then and allow time to do that.
     
  5. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,850
    Likes Received:
    2,146
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,618 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Sadly MPTVSeries did not support any kind of external data sources, so no .nfo file support available here. MP2 did support .nfo that can be generated by external tools like Ember, TinyMediamanger or MKV-Buddy and also by other HTPC software like Kodi or Plex.

    No, but for this there is an export function inside TVSeries. The files generated by this are readable by MP2-Edit and for this your watched flags can be transferred into MP2. MP2-Edit also offers export functions for watched flags from MovingPictures, MyFilms and Myvideos for your movies...

    Not all, but nearly all. Best is to do a fresh channel scan, define the hybrid tuners if necessary and map the channels to the tuners. All other stuff including channel groups, schedules, and so on can be exported and re-imported again. It took me about 20 Minutes (most of it are for the new channel scan) to have MP2 TV working with all settings I had in MP1 earlier...
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    That's not true. I know that at least EPG configuration and some important tuner settings are not handled. There's probably more that I'm not aware of as well.
     
  7. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,850
    Likes Received:
    2,146
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,618 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Then this had changed in last 8 or 9 month. At the beginning of this year all I had to do was what I wrote above. And even the new channel scan wasn't 100% necessary, but I preferred it the "clean" way......
    Since then I didn't need to do so as since then I'm only using MP2.
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No, the code hasn't changed in several years. For some people the missed details will not be crucial; for others it will. It depends on the tuners, EPG source/plugin, schedule types etc.
     
  9. raffe

    raffe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 28, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Show System Specs
    WHAAAT!!! o_O NOW I REALLY feel stupid! I instantly checked MP-TVSeries settings General tab, and there we have "Export Watched Flags..."

    :confused: Has that export thingy always been there? No, no! Don't answer that, I will just be even more embarrassed if I know it has been there for years and I have been looking for that function for years :oops:

    Anyway, THANK YOU, you have made my day! Now there is nothing holding me back! :)
     
  10. Dr Tone

    Dr Tone Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 29, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Is there Trakt.tv support in MP2 or via a plug in?
     
  11. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,850
    Likes Received:
    2,146
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,618 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    There is a Trakt plugin for MP2, but afaik it's broken at the moment. I don't use it so I'm not absolutely sure.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!