SleepControl plugin v1.10.0 for MediaPortal 1.3.0 and higher | Page 4

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by Micropolis, August 22, 2009.

  1. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    SleepControl plugin for Mediaportal v0.4.0

    Hi Loewenpower,
    Skin support for this plugin was introduced with BlackGlass skin version 1.5.0, please download and install the newest version of this skin from here. Please ensure, that these skin files will not be overwritten with the generic skin files from the installation package.
    Hope that helps, for more questions you can ping me tomorrow.

    Cheers, Micropolis ;-)


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Loewenpower
    • Premium Supporter

    Loewenpower MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 24, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wuppertal
    Ratings:
    +70 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thanks for your supoort, the plugin is working now and i love it ... thx
     
  4. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.0

    Dear community,
    this plugin was updated to version v0.5.0, the requested Quick Activation Mode is now supported. For more informations, please take a look into the attached manual.

    Cheers, Micropolis ;-)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.1

    Hi MediaPortal Community,
    this plugin was updated to version 0.5.1, the requested autostart functionality is now part of this release.

    Cheers, Micropolis ;-)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.5

    Dear MediaPortal Community,
    similar to this discussion, I've merged the functionalities of PowerControl into this plugin.
    If you want to use only the one-button-solution for hibernate/standby/shutdown mode, please use PowerControl instead.

    Cheers, Micropolis ;-)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Re: SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.5

    Couple of questions....

    How does this work with TVServer? Normally PowerScheduler is needed to get the machine to wake for recordings ? How does this work with this plugin? PowerScheduler will not allow sleep if a recording is about to start, does this plugin allow for that?

    Next what does the autostart option actually do? Does this just start the timer as soon as MP starts ?

    How does this integrate with Windows power management? Do the timers get reset on user action or something?

    If I wanted the machine to go to sleep 10 minutes after I do anything what do I need to set? Is this just one timer set to 10 minutes and tick the enable task control and the two options under it?

    Does this only support Vista/Win7 power management or will this work on XP as well?

    Thanks
     
  8. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Re: SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.5

    Hi jameson_uk,
    some small answers to your question:

    • TVServer: If you switch on the task control option, SleepControl wait until a recording is finished and started after this automatically. You can override this by pressing a configured remote control or keyboard button.
    • Autostart option: This starts a configured timer automatically after MediaPortal was started. This can be used e.g. to restart you HTPC every 24 hours.
    • Windows Power Management: If a timer was started, this plugin does not check for user interactions, you must manually stop the timer. (I hope, I understand this correctly. If not, please explain this again, thx).
    • Sleep 10 minutes: If you want to start an action after 10 minutes, you must define a timer in the configuration dialog. If you open the SleepControl window later, press button "Select Timer", select this and start it using the button "Start Timer". Alternatively you can map a remote or keyboard button for this.
    • Vista/Win7: I don't know exactly what you mean. This plugin use normal API functions, it must be work on all (supported) versions of Windows.

    For more informations, please post again or consult the manual.

    Cheers, Micropolis ;-)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Re: SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.5

    Thanks for the quick response, I think I may have missed the point of this plugin then :confused: Is this meant to control when the machine is on or is it so you can set a timer to put the machine to sleep (like a sleep timer on a normal TV)

    So what about waking up the machine for an upcoming recording? PowerScheduler does this as a TVServer plugin but I am guessing the two plugins will conflict.

    Win32 Power API has changed lots between XP and Vista (particularly stopping a machine going into standby)
     
  10. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Re: SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.5

    The machine must be switched on and you can set a timer to initiate the standby, hibernate or shutdown mode.

    This plugin does not have the ability to wakeup a machine, so you must use PowerScheduler to wake up a machine automatically. If you would manually wake up a machine, the upcoming version of HTPCInfo can do this.

    This version was tested with XP, Vista and Win7 32bit and I'm not able to identified any problems or restrictions.

    Cheers, Micropolis ;-)
     
  11. joz

    joz Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    153
    Occupation:
    J2ME / PHP programmer
    Ratings:
    +154 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Re: SleepControl plugin for MediaPortal v0.5.5

    Just been reading this thread a bit and could not yet find if this plug is supporting to enable the timer by pressing a remote button (say remote yellow button)
    the my sleeptimer plug is able to do so and since that's the only functionality i need i have sticked with that for now. But i'd gladly switch to this one if it can do it too.
    To clarify a bit; pressing the remote button multiple times will increment the timer by x defined amount, just like most tv's do
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!