[confirm] - Some Blu-ray disks will not play.

Discussion in 'MP 1.3.0 Beta & RC' started by happyf1sh, August 24, 2012.

  1. happyf1sh

    happyf1sh Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hello,



    I'm sure I've missed something obvious, but here goes;
    I have at least two blu-ray disks that won't play in 1.3.0a (i just get a black screen) which did play in release 1.2.3 (with BDHandler). I have others that will play.
    I have looked through the logs but not really sure what I'm lookin for.
    I have attached them though.

    I'd be grateful if someone could have a quick look and see if there is anything obvious to try....

    Thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Couldn't see anything wrong in the logs. Please try different video decoder and/or post a samples of the Blu-rays that fail to play -> http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/User:tourettes/Providing_a_Sample_blu-ray_content
     
  4. happyf1sh

    happyf1sh Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for looking tourettes,

    I tried a different video decoders and using graphstudio to see ehats happening I report the following;

    1) I had to change the VC-1 video setting (in blu-ray codec tab) to affect a change in the video codec
    2) LAV as described above (black screen)
    3) "WMVideo Decoder DM0" (black screen)
    4) "Cyberlink VC-1 Decoder (PDVD7.x)" - reports "unable to play: index.bdmv"

    Other things I noticed;
    • I believe the black screen is because the file doesn't actually start (notice the counter on GraphStudio).
    • Filmerit reports that mpurlsourcesplitter.ax, mpadecfilter.ax, mpeg2decfilter.ax are missing. I don't think these are related.
    • Also, when I select "Mediaportal - Audio Renderer" - graphstudio shows it to be unconnected


    Hope the information helps ....

    Edit: I have updated samples of 'Inception'
     
    Last edited: August 25, 2012
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,230
    Likes Received:
    6,191
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,184 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    MPAR didn't connect if bitstream is selected on ffdshow audio decoder / LAV Audio.
    Try to setup like screenshot.
    I have set LAV Video do use avcodec (so no DXVA / Acceleration etc.)
    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    One thing you could do (before uploading the samples) is to check what video format all the failing Blu-ray disks have.

    From BDReader....log look for:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. 24-08-2012 15:22:05.360 [  fc8]   Video    [4113]     VC1
    3. 24-08-2012 15:22:05.362 [  fc8]   Audio #0:[4352] eng DTS-HD Master
    4. 24-08-2012 15:22:05.364 [  fc8]   Audio #1:[4355] jpn AC3
    5.  
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,230
    Likes Received:
    6,191
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,184 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Yep seems related to VC1 :p
     
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,230
    Likes Received:
    6,191
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,184 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I have do some test.
    The sample is surely VC1 interlaced and then to make it work with LAV Video (when no using cuvid / intel quicksync) we must use (check) WM9 option in LAV Video codec format setting.
    But it will not work with BDReader (yet), if i didn't check that box on VC1i and play it with LAV Splitter, it does blackscreen.

    So we need to add WM9 to bdreader :p and or you can try to install trial version od PDVD11/12 and try to use that codec :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. happyf1sh

    happyf1sh Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks Sebastiii, Tourettes,

    You are correct, it is exactly the fact that they are VC1.

    So, I followed your suggested settings Sebastiii, and in particular un-checking 'use Microsdoft WMVideo Decoder DM0' in the LAV filter video settings made all the difference.
    Unfortunately my machine is not powerful enough to run blu-ray without hardware accelaration. Very poor performance. :(

    But I know a little more now. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Added limitations to Wiki.

    Should we mantis the 'Add WMV9 code to BDReader'?
     
    Last edited: August 29, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Atomic7431

    Atomic7431 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2011
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    is this fixed as i created and dl latest version from master branch yesterday and i now have a bluray in bdmv file structure which refuses to play and goes to a black screen (johnny English reborn). i have other blu rays which play fine, and as i recall ive tested these before and they never did this, think it was alpha release.
    I am just testing on a laptop until me new system comes, its got an i3 350m with intel hd graphics and 3gb ram windows 7 x64, new specs will be trinity based but thought if there is an issue this may help others.
    I also have a bluray called hereafter and the menu loads but when i hit play the menu screen stays there and the audio somtimes plays and sometimes portal just freezes ?

    using latest lav filters and changed settings to match post further up the thread and tried various other settings.
     
    Last edited: November 2, 2012
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!