Stuttering in scheduled recordings unless client window is open (TSWriter Continuity error) | Page 7

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by Kent Ohlsson, March 22, 2012.

  1. Kent Ohlsson

    Kent Ohlsson Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hjärnhora
    Location:
    Varberg
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    There might be, there are tons of settings that can be made in ASRock UEFI Setup Utility. However since I'm not sure about what I'm doing, I haven't tried to change everything, just a few of the settings, see previous posts. Here are some screenshots who might be informative to someone more experienced.

    IMG_4316.jpg IMG_4317.jpg IMG_4318.jpg IMG_4319.jpg IMG_4320.jpg IMG_4321.jpg IMG_4322.jpg IMG_4323.jpg IMG_4324.jpg IMG_4325.jpg IMG_4326.jpg IMG_4316.jpg IMG_4317.jpg


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Kent Ohlsson

    Kent Ohlsson Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hjärnhora
    Location:
    Varberg
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Just for the record and maybe useful information for someone who's thinking of buying a new ASRock computer...

    ASRock Technical Support Division didn't bother to reply to my support request of March 25.
    Maybe support requests are automatically redirected to /dev/null
     
  4. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    Probably repeating everyone else's post... go through the bios and disable/fix the obvious speed/power management settings - I can see a few obvious ones (which I'm sure you have already tried)

    Have you tried the using something like the "throttlestop" utility?

    J.
     
  5. Kent Ohlsson

    Kent Ohlsson Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hjärnhora
    Location:
    Varberg
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I've created a new set of log files.

    I did this:

    • Started MP Client normally (not in debug mode)
    • Closed VLC Media player (VLC normally running minimized to tray to prevent stuttering)
    • Initiated a recording
    • Closed the client (Now there should be stuttering in the current recording, tswriter complaining)
    • After a while started VLC again minimized
    • Waited yet another while and started the MP client to cancel the recording
    • closed MP client
    • Started MP client in debug mode to generate the zip file for logs
     
  6. Kent Ohlsson

    Kent Ohlsson Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hjärnhora
    Location:
    Varberg
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I can try harder. I will go through some more BIOS but not today.

    Personally I already have the cure for my problems. (Running VLC minimized to tray when windows starts) It should be nice though to find the cause of the problems because it's my believe that I'm certainly not alone to have them. I believe most people (with affected systems of course) make recordings while the MP client is active, hence they will never notice it. I also believe there are some people just giving up, maybe trying some other software (which is sad) or just accepts the fact it's not working. It's probably not a problem with MP, I don't believe that but maybe it's a problem that MP could deal with (take care of) and prevent the suspected power saving functions to occur which potentially causes problems for users of MP :) Am I right in my thinking here?
     
  7. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi Kent, the problem seems to be unique, that's why we are all repeating ourselves as to why this is happening.

    Anyway only 1 change I can see required to get the best from your setup from the pictures you posted, that would be restart pc on ac power loss, nothing else seems even remotely relevant.
     
  8. melstig

    melstig Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 16, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Umea
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Hi,
    I did not realize that my system spec was gone since the merge to the new forum, sorry for that. :)

    I will try to find the time during eastern to see if the problems are similar on my system.
     
  9. Kent Ohlsson

    Kent Ohlsson Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Hjärnhora
    Location:
    Varberg
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    OK, thanks again everyone for helping. Let's hope that this is a very unique problem as Ray suggests. From what I've understood the stuttering occurs because of some aggressive, unidentified power saving functions that's specific on my hardware platform/combination of hardware.

    I expect that by some time that more people experiencing the same problem will find this thread and can contribute with reports so that the exact cause of the problem will be revealed.

    Happy Easter holidays everyone! :)
     
  10. melstig

    melstig Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 16, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Umea
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I finally did a recordning without the MP Client running, sorry for the delay. I could not see any difference with the client running or not. I upgraded MP to the latest version prior to the recording.
     
  11. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Intel SpeedStep will definitely cause issues in TVServer. It will lower the CPU frequency depending on CPU usage. But it has some hysteresis which is enough to cause the discontinuities. In the BIOS setup screenshots you posted SpeedStep is enabled.

    IIRC CPU-Z will show you the actual CPU frequency in realtime. You can use that as a monitor, to see if that is your issue.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!