[TV] - Switch timeshift from one client to another | Page 2

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by cnicolas, May 2, 2012.

  1. MrCrabs

    MrCrabs Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 21, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ingenieur Maschinenbau / mechanical engineer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +129 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I think you got it. What thought of was pressing record current program and than you can watch this program on any other client, but after the show or movie or whatever has stopped the recording will stop, so you only shift one show. You can't just watch the same channel afterwards.
    But what I forgot was that there is an option where you need to stop recording manually, so it is no "placeshifting light" - my bad.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mbuzina
    • Premium Supporter

    mbuzina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +723 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    If you use the method with "pause" as I described above, you freely use the timeshift buffer as if it was created for your client. So no need to start recording, just view the channel.
     
  4. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    The only "advantage" (that I can think of) to the recording method, is that you can shutdown client1, before starting client2. So saves you running around starting and stopping clients in different rooms.

    J.
     
  5. GeBe

    GeBe Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 12, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Hi

    I just tried this using 1.4 with no luck.
    The second client won't let me timeshift further back than it's starting point.

    Has the feature been changed or removed?

    I'm running with a single seat master and a connected client.
     
    Last edited: June 24, 2013
  6. cnicolas

    cnicolas Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 19, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Hi,

    It seem placeshifting doesn't work anymore with 1.4.

    Could anyone confirm this ???

    Thanks
     
  7. MrCrabs

    MrCrabs Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 21, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ingenieur Maschinenbau / mechanical engineer
    Location:
    Braunschweig
    Ratings:
    +129 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I tried it, too, and it didn't work either.
     
  8. 4Fred
    • Premium Supporter

    4Fred MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 8, 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jönköping
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I do this often, and the solution that is simple and rock solid is record current program, turn off client one - brush you teeth and watch recorded program in bed on client two :)
     
  9. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Yes I wish you could record using the timeshift buffer :) There was a patch for it once, but it was a big hack and I assume it caused some other issues which is why it never made it into MP.
     
    Last edited: August 13, 2013
  10. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I don't think this was ever a supported feature - I suspect it just happened to work that way in older MP versions (there was a major update of the TV server in 1.3.0, as far as I remember).
     
  11. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Hi,

    I have started to develop this feature but we need to decide what happen if the user started to switch to an another client but never finish it.

    For example:

    1. User start to watch TV on Client 1
    2. Use the pause so the timeshift buffer is in used
    3. Decide to move to Client 2, select an option on context menu to initiate the placeshift
    4. Stop Client 1
    5. Server keep the buffer (for example switch to an virtual client)
    6. Start TV on Client 2 and select the stream from virtual client.
    7. Client 2 can use the timeshift buffer.
    8. User stops the Client 2, the buffer deleted.
    What will happen if the user does not follow the steps from 6.?
    The server keeps the timeshifting for ever.

    Do we use a time interval during the server keeps the buffer?

    Any idea?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: September 6, 2013
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!