1.15.0 - Technisat Skystar S2 not working since MP1.15

Discussion in 'Archive' started by jassmel, September 24, 2016.

  1. jassmel

    jassmel Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    MediaPortal Version: 1.15.0

    Description
    Hi,



    I'm using the Technisat Skystar S2 card in my System, which worked fine using MP1.14 and older Versions.
    This is the only card which is supported with WDM drivers by MP, because BDA drivers are not stable for this card. (see Wiki)

    Recently I upgraded to MP1.15 and the card stopped working. I checked on two different systems and also with clean installation,
    the card is not working,
    The channels are correctly assigned to the IdCard 4 and/or 5, but also preview not working (no graph). Also channel scan is not working - no channels found.

    Downgrading again to MP1.14, the Card is working again. (Reproducable!)
    What I found out looking to the TVServer Setup, the Card is identified in a differnt way since MP1.15 (see also attached Foto and readme.txt)). In MP1.14 the card is identified as "B2C2 MPEG-2 Source", while in MP1.15 the card is identified as "SkyStar S2 TV PCI(2.0)".

    For reference I also attached the log files from both installations (1.14 and 1.15) from the same System.

    Would be great if someone from the devolopers can pick that up and hopefully have a solution. I am using 4 Card from that type and I hope I can use them also in the future.


    copied from export.xml file MP1.14 (Skystar S2 is working)

    <card IdCard="5" DevicePath="@device:sw:{083863F1-70DE-11D0-BD40-00A0C911CE86}\{E82536A0-94DA-11D2-A463-00A0C95D308D}" Name="B2C2 MPEG-2 Source" Priority="1" GrabEPG="True" LastEpgGrab="2000-1-1 0:0:0" RecordingFolder=""
    Enabled="True" CamType="0" TimeShiftFolder="" RecordingFormat="0" DecryptLimit="0" PreloadCard="False" CAM="False" netProvider="0" StopGraph="True" />


    copied from export.xml file MP1.14 (Skystar S2 is working):
    <card IdCard="4" DevicePath="device:DEVICE_INTERFACE_PCI_3387013391_170_[00:08:C9:E1:B9:0F]" Name="SkyStar S2 TV PCI (2.0)" Priority="4" GrabEPG="True" LastEpgGrab="2000-1-1 0:0:0" RecordingFolder=""
    Enabled="True" CamType="0" TimeShiftFolder="" RecordingFormat="0" DecryptLimit="0" PreloadCard="False" CAM="False" netProvider="0" StopGraph="True" />

    Steps to Reproduce:
    see above description
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_3173.JPG
      IMG_3173.JPG
      File size:
      3.9 MB
      Uploaded:
      September 24, 2016
      Views:
      98
    • IMG_3174.JPG
      IMG_3174.JPG
      File size:
      3.6 MB
      Uploaded:
      September 24, 2016
      Views:
      95
    • readme.txt
      File size:
      867 bytes
      Uploaded:
      September 24, 2016
      Views:
      75
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Likes Received:
    6,177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,164 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    It seems to be related to this change : MP1-4774
    This is the rework to remove dvblib.dll and made implementation for B2C2 cards more generic, this will explain the changed name :)

    So it seems that we need to add a check against null reference exception based on your logs :

    Code (Text):
    1. [2016-09-18 17:23:32,364] [Log    ] [DVB EPG timer] [ERROR] - Exception   :System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    2.    at TvLibrary.Implementations.DVB.TvCardDvbBase.AddMdPlugs(IBaseFilter& lastFilter)
    3.    at TvLibrary.Implementations.DVB.TvCardDvbB2C2.BuildGraph()
    Can you try attached file ?

    You need to replace existant one in :

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server
    and
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal

    You need to stop tvservice.exe before :p
     
    Last edited: September 25, 2016
  4. jassmel

    jassmel Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi, very quick Response ! Thx

    I immediately tried it out, but without success so far.
    After stopping TV Server, I replaced the TVLibrary.dll in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server Directory.
    I can't find the second file you sent (TVLibrary.pdb). It was also not in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal Directory.

    Nevertheless I did a try to copy both files in both directories, but still with the same result. :-(
    I hope you have more ideas. Thx in advance
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Likes Received:
    6,177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,164 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Yep .pdb is a debug files to know the callstack and get line of code :p
    So you did right to copy both files and i forgot to tell you to get fresh logs to have more information (hoping).
     
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Likes Received:
    6,177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,164 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    In between, i have add more checking about possible null reference :)
    So try again and get fresh logs (even if it works)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. jassmel

    jassmel Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    so far with both Versions no success. I have attached two sets of log files v1 (first Version of your files) and v2 (second version).
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Likes Received:
    6,177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,164 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Thanks :)
    It seems far more complex so i will surely need help but try this bin with fresh logs :)
     
    Last edited: September 25, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  9. jassmel

    jassmel Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Please find log files for v4 attached.

    This time I observed the following new behaviour
    1.) In Manual control (TV-Server Setup), I see a red line accross the entry for the Technisat S2, but epg grabbing not starting
    2.) Under Preview channel, I got now the message after ~10 sec. " No PMT found".
    I guess that is also somehow visible for you from the log files. It Looks like we are moving Forward step by step.
    Thx so far. !
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Likes Received:
    6,177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,164 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Let's try this one too :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. jassmel

    jassmel Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    same behaviour as V4. Log files for V5 attached
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!